Apple, Oats & Caramel Smoothie

I woke up this morning with an intense smoothie craving. Most likely it’s due to the  70 degree weather we’ve had the last couple of days.
IMG_9573I had randomly purchased a few individual Greek yogurts from Kroger, including an
Apple & Oats one.  Now, I’m rawther particular about flavored yogurt. I hate fruit on the bottom yogurt,  I truly believe is the work of dark forces. Who wants runny, sugary goop running through their yogurt? Not this freak. But Apple & Oats seemed like it would be redolent of an old school oatmeal packet in the best possible way.

After a bite or two, I decided the texture still wasn’t it for me (though infinitely better than other “stuff on the bottom” yogurts); so to the blender this went to make a smoothie!

Not being a banana fan (yes, I know I’m special in the best way possible), I decided to use fresh apple with this Apple yogurt. I used a big slightly bruised Golden apple, but whatever you have on-hand is perfect. I whirred in some nut butter, protein powder, actual oatmeal (shock!) spices and a healthy (ha) glug of caramel and I called this breakfast. You will too.

Apple, Oats & Caramel Smoothie
1/2 large apple, peeled, seeded and chopped
3 oz Apple n’ Oats Yogurt (or Vanilla or Plain yogurt)
1/2 c. almond milk (or dairy milk)
1/2 scoop (about 1 heaping TBS) vanilla protein powder (optional)
pinch of nutmeg
big handful of ice
1 tbs raw oatmeal
1 tbs nut butter
1 tbs caramel sauce

Into your blender: Apple, yogurt, milk, protein powder, nutmeg  and ice. Blend until smooth.  Depending on your texture preference, add oatmeal and nut butter and either pulse a few times or blend until smooth. Pour into glass, drizzle with caramel sauce. Sip happily. Serves 1. 

IMG_9576I want to stick my spoon in that caramel.

Leave a Reply

