Findlay Market Finds: February Edition

Farmers’ Markets are for lovers, amiright? Who knows what nonsense I’m saying other than I love a farmers’ market and I love Findlay Market.

By shopping the local vegetable stalls, meat vendors and my favorite Saigon Market,
I scored lots of produce and other fun things for a mere $40. SHOP LOCAL DAMNIT.

IMG_8956
Farm fresh eggs (yes, I got a little green one in there, so pretty!)
Saigon Market bounty: Huge bottle of Apple Cider Vinegar, White Kidney Beans, Dried Parsley, Bulk Cashews (these actually came from another store), Water Chestnuts and a whole bag of Star Anise. STAR ANISE YOU SAY?

IMG_8961.JPGBeautiful and powerful, this licorice-flavored spice is used in Chinese 5-spice powder and often in marinades and rubs. I like to make my little warm drinks of fresh ginger and lemon, and I thought adding this herbal powerhouse would be delicious (star anise is supposed to have anti-viral properties, perfect for flu season!)IMG_8957Vegetables: Mushrooms, Scallions, Broccoli, Romaine, Kale, Cilantro, Eggplant, Fennel and Cauliflower. Plus a whole BAG of organic limes for just one dollar.  Just YES.

Meats (Sorry they’re still wrapped!): 2 slices of rind-on bacon and 2 Chicken Shiitake Sausages from Kroeger & Sons) for a soup I’ll be sharing next week!

What are you eating this week?

Leave a Reply

