In the Cart: January Style

Oh haaay!
I started this post, well, in January, and then life got in the way of me hitting Publish.
But I love this corner of the interwebs that I call mine so I shall continue to randomly assault you with photos of groceries, recipes and pics of random restaurant food even if they’re from 3 weeks ago.  I know, snugglebear, I missed you too.

Here are the fun grocery thing I enjoyed last month!

PROTEIN:
IMG_8767
Almond Coconut Milk: A favorite for coffee and cooking.
Tempeh: I prefer the texture of tempeh to tofu and honestly love eating cold, thin slices right from the package. What is tempeh? It’s tofu’s textured, fermented cousin. If you can’t stand tofu in any of its forms, try tempeh; it has a bolder, almost nutty flavor and is packed with protein and other good things (even more so than tofu) #weirdanddelicious
Salmon Fillet: Baked at 350, for 22 minutes, skin side down. It’s literally a perfect meal.
Al Fresco Caramelized Onion Chicken Burgers: Wanting to get some freezer-friendly quick protein, I picked these up. I’m not sure of their non-hormone or GMO origins but the ingredient list was pretty whole-foods-focused, and you can cook them from frozen. Win!

PANTRY ITEMS: IMG_8764
The cupboard was a little bare, so I stocked up on a bunch of staples:
Apple Cider Vinegar, Mushroom Soup, Broccoli Soup, Water Chestnuts, Brown Rice Noodles, Brown Rice, Brown Rice Pasta, Cannellini Beans, Squeezable herbs Lemongrass, Cashew Butter, Spices: Nutmeg, Garlic Powder and Green Curry Paste and finally SAVORY TEA.

Numi Savory Tea What is this delight you ask?! Oh I’ll tell YOU ! I like drinking broth, it’s warm and filling. BUT I didn’t like that I was basically drinking a salt mine everytime I had a cup. So I googled “savory tea” thinking in the land of Candy Lane Lane and Gingerbread Latte tea there might be something a little less adorable and a little more flavorful that I could try. Behold, not only does Numi make a Savory Tea, they have several flavors to enjoy. FULL PRODUCT REVIEW TO COME! Get Savory Pumped! (what?)

VEGETABLES 
IMG_8763The usual good stuff for salads, snacking and soups: Romaine Hearts, Butternut Squash, Celery, Potato, Avocado, Red Cabbage, Radishes, Spinach, Broccoli, Scallions Tomatoes & fresh Ginger.

Tons of good food for about $120! All put to excellent use in January!

Try anything amazing lately? 

Leave a Reply

