In the Cart: Volume Who Knows

Your Kind of Salad is now The hANNEmaiden – same goofy content, new name and look – thanks for staying with me!

It’s time for another addition of WHAT’S IN THE CART? AKA I show you what I bought grocery shopping and how I plan to use it. It speaks to my voyeuristic soul. Enjoy!

This week’s shopping was all done at Kroger. I love my beloved Findlay Market and Whole Foods but this was a busy weekend and Kroger was it; still got awesome stuff so let’s see:

PROTEIN!

IMG_8290
– Whole Chicken (spoiler alert, we do ALOT with this next week)
– Flax tempeh (switching it up from the usual tofu). Is delicious crumbled onto salads.
– Eggs: my favorite; breakfast, lunch, dinner, #putaneggonit

DAIRY!

IMG_8292
– Tis the Season! I LOVE eggnog (have I mentioned I’m 500 years old?) But I don’t typically drink cow’s milk or hundreds of calories in one glass so I REALLY REALLY love the non-dairy, lower calorie nogs this time of year.
I typically use them as my coffee creamer. No chemicals like those other “holiday creamers” and dairy-free.
I love you, nog.
– A big ole’ block of swiss cheese. I have some dark rye bread at home and a Swiss cheesy-melty grilled cheese and tomato soup sounded awesome for this week.
– Unsweetened almond milk, I always have this for cooking or baking (but not for coffee drinking, the NOG has got that this week).

THE PANTRY! 

IMG_8293 – Sigh. Most of time, I’m 500 years old, but I can be about 9 years old too. I love my Annie’s Mac and Cheese. I hide this in my pantry amongst my expensive vinegars and oils and secretly LOVE ON IT. Don’t tell.
– Nut-Thins. Super crunchy and delightful.
– Knorr chicken bouillon. The best grocery brand. Hands-down.
– Coffee, because you know, LIFE.
– Mulling spice. I had some 4-day old opened red wine the other day and was contemplating what to do with it. I ended up throwing it in a saucepan with brandy, some nutmeg and cinnamon (in a little cloth sack) and falling in love with it’s warm comforting flavor. Decided to try it officially with mulling spices. Cheers to hot boozy drinks!

VEGETABLES AND FRUIT! 

IMG_8289

The backbone of any shopping trip, here’s what I got for produce:

– The world’s largest bag of frozen broccoli, seriously, I think this was 5lbs? I love broccoli. Don’t be weird about it.
– Kale greens, perfect for soup and pasta!
– Baby spinach: staple of my salads and when they start to go wilty? Baby spinach makes awesome pesto. This is why I usually buy arugula or other salad greens separately from spinach, the spinach lasts longer on it’s own and makes a better pesto than the more delicate greens. #themoreyouknow.
– Radishes, Tomatoes, Red Cabbage and Carrots:  I love my salad veggies!
– Garlic, it’s cold and flu season people, get this into your diet, stat.
– Bag o’ apples (Braeburns I think?). Snacking, cooking and baking.

All this delightfulness for about $60. We’ll take it. Stick around to see what we cook with it!

 

Leave a Reply

