#TBT: Gourmet Dumpling House

Try as I might,  I often start blog posts, get distracted by something else I want to write and the original post languishes, sad and unread. NO MORE! In honor of Throwback Thursday (#TBT), I’m finishing these forgotten gems (?) and sharing them. Some are from a couple of months ago, some are from years ago (fun!). Enjoy taking a look back at some awesome eats.

This post is a SERIOUS Throwback Thursday, like I think this was 3 cameras and one city ago. Sigh; the food? Still awesome.

Gourmet Dumpling House is a Boston institution. Known for their incredibly authentic and delicious food as they are for their crazy wait-times (and cheap prices). This place is the real deal.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The menu is is not limited to dumplings; far from it! The menu goes on and on with appetizers, entrees, vegetables, soups and hot pot.

On this particular night, many moons ago, two friends and I shared some of the bounty.

Spoiler alert: we did not have dumplings. I know! I’m sure they’re amazing…BUT I’m not a huge fan of dumplings or buns. I think it’s the sweetish dough or the heavy texture? Not sure. Potstickers and gyoza, I love; but I (think?) the wrapper is usually a bit lighter. Any dumpling experts care to enlighten me? Have I just been ordering the wrong things for years? Help me out, dumpling kings and queens!

Back to this particular night, here is what we devoured: OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASauteed Shanghai Green beans: I love the preparation of these! Just slightly spicy, but crunchy and packed with that umami flavor I love so much.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASauteed Chinese Mushrooms Over GreensAnother deliciously savory dish. Rich, sauced mushrooms over the clean, bright taste of the (ridiculously good-for-you) baby bok choy. Good stuff. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASauteed Noodles with Chicken: I never met a plate of vermicelli noodles I didn’t like. What is it about the thinner the noodle, the better the dish tastes? Seriously, there is something so SATISFYING about thin, thin noodles sauced, spiced and twirled onto your fork (or chopsticks as the case may be).  Face-cramming awesomeness.

Gourmet Dumpling House is no joke and no cakewalk (bunwalk?) to get into. Be prepared to wait; and be prepared to be blown away by the quality and flavor of your dishes.

Want to check out other #TBT?
#TBT: Cabo San Lucas

Leave a Reply

