TBT: Cabo San Lucas

Try as I might,  I often start blog posts, get distracted by something else I want to write and the original post languishes, sad and unread. NO MORE! In honor of Throwback Thursday (#TBT), I’m finishing these forgotten gems (?) and sharing them. Some are from a couple of months ago, some are from years ago (fun!). Enjoy taking a look back at some awesome eats.

Last summer, my dear pal, Jen decided to go all-out for her birthday. She hosted the big event at the beautiful resort of Capella Pedregal in Cabo San Lucas (now just the Resort at the Pedgregal) and asked if a few friends would attend. My only response was “where is my sunscreen?”
IMG_9572
Heading to our seaside villa

After a simple flight through Dallas over to Cabo, I arrived at the beautiful Pedregal. We were fortunate to be housed in one of their gorgeous 2-story, 3-bedroom, 4-bath villas and let me say, I am a villa girl. I hadn’t realized it before when staying six girls to a standard room on other vacations, but yeah, villa life is the life for me.

IMG_0224
My sleeping bed and my napping bed. Of course I have two. WHY WOULDN’T I.IMG_0226Living room and dining room. Why yes, just this area was bigger than my apartment.

DSC00514Me enjoying a glass of wine in our private plunge pool. NBD.

IMG_9574Our daily delivery of beers and snacks at 4pm. Again, I must stress that villa living is the way to go.

We tore ourselves away from our lush accommodations to head to the beach/pool for cocktails sunning and swimming.

IMG_9507
IMG_9519Lazy days….

We managed to leave our beautiful little cocoon to go out exploring at dinner. Cabo is famous for their spring-break type bars and clubs (whoo hoo, college!); but we knew for certain we did NOT want to eat at anyplace like that (sorry Señor Frogs).

Jen had done a bit of research on restaurants; and after wandering (somewhat aimlessly) through central Cabo, we found our destination: Maria Jimenez.

IMG_0236
This darling spot had received wonderful reviews on Yelp for its quality and authenticity of Mexican cuisine. Sold.

Upon ordering cervezas and margaritas, we were brought complimentary sope; little fried tortas with cheese and beans.   IMG_0239
That would be my friend Allison really enjoying her sope.

IMG_0247
For entrée; Jen and I shared this Combo plate of magic; a mix of carne asada, enchiladas, rice and beans. We loved it.  But not as much as we loved the mariachi that came around to serenade the birthday girl (we would tell every restaurant it was Jen’s birthday for the entire birthday weekend. She ate alot of complimentary cake. As one should on their birthday weekend)

Breakfasts were a simple affair at our darling villa. We shopped at the small food market outside of the resort and picked up some fresh things to have on-hand. Girl cannot survive on guacamole alone. Although I tried.
IMG_9501
Our typical breakfast: Eggs with onions and avocado, homemade tortillas and some cereal/fruit.

After another lazy day around the pool, we headed out to discover another dinner spot: Los Tres Gallos. Also located in central Cabo, we settled on their beautiful and breezy patio for a sunset dinner.

IMG_9585Los Tres Gallos is known for their from-scratch food and outdoor kitchen that shows off their assortment of fresh produce and dried chiles.IMG_9586

IMG_9588
After ordering the specialty margaritas (Jalapeno Margarita for me), we nibbled on a few tortilla chips with some mole sauce for dipping.

IMG_9583
Having been in Cabo for two days and not having had my fish taco fix was inexcusable; I was happy to remedy that.
IMG_9592
Mixed seafood seasoned and stuffed into homemade tortillas with salsa and guacamole. Just YES. I will always eat the guacamole first. Always. #avocadosforever.

Our final night dinner we stayed at our resort to dine cliff side at El Farallon, the resort’s fine dining restaurant.

IMG_9540I GUESS this view will do. Sigh. IMG_9551
The premise of El Farallon is whatever is fished and caught that day is sold. Period. Once you’re seated, your waiter guides you to the ice rack where the fresh items are waiting; and you literally say “I want that for my dinner.”  That is all. So simple and perfect. (There were some steaks available for the seafood adverse but why are you friends with those people?) IMG_9559
A trio of starters and soup is to brought to each table. The items do not vary by table, everyone is served the same starters and soup. On our visit we enjoyed a calamari tempura, ceviche and a simple salad of tomatoes, cucumbers and cojita. Our soup (unpictured) was as crab bisque that I was too busy devouring to take a photo of. IMG_9561
I enjoyed a (personally selected) piece of red snapper and grilled corn along with seasoned rice. Sides were selected from a blackboard menu by the fish rack. I opted to add two shrimp to my entrée; and was so glad I did. Dinner was fresh, flavorful and accompanied by this incredible view.

IMG_9555

IMG_9546
I guess it was all right.

IMG_9565(birthday dessert #4)

So grateful to have spent such a lovely and food-filled weekend with friends to celebrate Jen’s birthday.  #villalife4eva

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks beautiful! According to HLB, you’re from the Cinci area, which I am as well! So nice to meet you & I love your blog!!

    1. Yes, I’m from Boston but I live in Cincinnati now! Thanks so much for reading, I’m glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

