It’s Beginning to Look Alot Like 2015

Happy 2015 friends!
I’m not one for resolutions, but I’m happy to be in a fresh, new year!

As in years past, here is a round-up of what my holiday season looked like.  IMG_1085
My little Christmas tree! Normally I get a real tree from these nice guys; but I was out-of-town quite a bit between Thanksgiving and New Year’s, so little tree it was! IMG_1107
Part of the fun between Thanksgiving and New Year’s was back to back sinus infections. Horrible stuff. The first one had me running to the physician for antibiotics, the second one had me running to the market for natural remedies. The girls at The Juicery set me right with a Tumeric tonic and Watermelon juice. Combined with gallons of lemon & ginger tea, hours of hot showers and dozens of grapefruits, I kicked that sinus pain to the curb.

I also finished “A Tiger in the Kitchen” by Cheryl Lu-Lien Tan. An absolutely engrossing memoir; a Singapore-born American woman returns home to Singapore to learn the food of her family. I have to go to Singapore now.

IMG_1167I did not have to go to Singapore for this. Just Massachusetts. What I thought was an urban legend…Gingerland UFO by Harpoon.  I love a seasonal beer. This one has notes of gingerbread wrapped up in an unfiltered wheat beer. Perfect if you like a lighter flavor.

IMG_1216Speaking of seasonal; look at this seasonal beauty. A bowl full of pomegranate arils. Bliss. My sister tossed these jewels into a homemade fattoush salad.

IMG_1242
A trip to the North End’s Ernesto’s yielded a giant slice of white pizza and a spinach and cheese arancini. Oh I do love a rice ball. IMG_1259
New Year’s Eve, I joined my sister and my brother-in-law at their neighbor’s NYE party. The drinks were flowing. Literally. There was a Pomegranate Pineapple Martini fountain. Thank goodness we walked. IMG_1282
As we’ve done for the past 10 (?!) years, my girlfriends from home get together and have a girls-only brunch, complete with a VICIOUS Yankee swap. We drink prosecco, catch up, and eat lots and lots of delicious things. I brought a simple cheese and fruit board this year: Asiago Rosemary, Blueberry Goat Cheese and Porcini mushroom, all delicious, all from Trader Joe’s.  There was the requisite Lox and Bagels spread; Herby cream cheese swapped out for Smokey Jalapeno Alouette, a delicious choice. There was also a delicious egg casserole, incredible artichoke dip and luscious apple crisp. Always a great (and tasty) time.  IMG_1302
Easing into January, my sister took me to her local Sweetgreen; a chopped salad restaurant. I enjoyed the Spicy Sabzi: organic baby spinach + shredded kale, spicy quinoa, spicy broccoli, raw beets, carrots, sprouts, basil, roasted organic tofu, sriracha, carrot chili vinaigrette. So. Darn. Good. IMG_1307
One of my favorite things ever is Polar Seltzer. Difficult to find in OH, and especially difficult to find all the flavors. Naturally I bought liters to bring home. NATURALLY. IMG_1346
Back home in Ohio, I filled my fridge with lots of delicious things. I also prepped vegetables for the week. I threw all the ends, bits and nips into a huge stockpot, added water, salt, pepper and simmered for hours. Homemade healthy and nutritious vegetable broth? Sure. IMG_1388
Finally, I tried the new-to-me Krueger’s Tavern, a new American Tavern in OTR. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. I was expecting another pub joint. Yawn. And while they do specialize in canned beer; I found the cocktail and wine menu interesting and I really liked that the menu! It was simple (salads, sandwiches, sausages, appetizers) and accessible cost-wise. The servers were, as a group, lovely and informative; and the music was downright awesome. Get yourself there.

So that’s what I’ve been up to the last few weeks!

What about you? Best part of December? Things you’re looking forward to in January? The rest of 2015?

Leave a Reply

