On the Cheapside

Hooray for another completely delicious lunch option downtown.
I’ve already waxed poetic about my love of French Crust Cafe; and of course Pho Lang Thang, but I love having yet another accessible and interesting option in the neighborhood.

Welcome to the Cheapside.

Done in all white, with exposed beams, Cheapside boasts both a breakfast and lunch menu, as well as an array of thoughtfully prepared coffee drinks.

IMG_8974Though breakfast is served all day (a plus in my book), on this particular day, friends and I were there for lunch. We placed our orders and headed out to the teepee (yup, there’s a cedar teepee on their patio) while the server brought our lunch.

I had ordered from the breakfast menu (oh the freedom!); and enjoyed the Smoked Salmon sandwich, with pickled red onions, cucumber and herb cream cheese on salted rye bread.
IMG_8973I’m a fool for smoked salmon and I thought this was dynamite. I loved, loved, loved the salted rye bread. Made the whole sandwich.

I also tried the Hen of the Woods homemade potato chips available as well.
IMG_8969Lemongrass & pink peppercorn? Sort of puts salt & vinegar to SHAME. Fresh, crispy and perfectly seasoned. Get on the homemade potato chip train.

IMG_8976
Not the most inexpensive option; (sandwich, large sparkling water and chips set me back about $11.25); but fresh, delicious and beautifully executed.

I’m looking forward to going back for breakfast and a gorgeous coffee in the AFTERNOON. Freedom to eat breakfast at 1pm? Its what’s for lunch at Cheapside.

Leave a Reply

