Kellerman’s Redux

What a LUSCIOUS Memorial Day weekend I had.
I was lucky enough to spend it in Boston with my family, at our favorite Cape Cod resort, The Sea Crest. My parents have been coming here since they were first married, and this place is old school in the best possible way.
Hotel right on the beach? Check
Poolside bar? Check
Stewards to bring your chairs/umbrellas to the beach? Check
Frank Sinatra impersonator? Check and check.

Did I mention that the Sea Crest is kind of like Kellerman’s – the hotel from Dirty Dancing? Its got that old timey resort feel, and I loved it.

The weekend was spent gorging on seafood, my Dad’s Bloody Marys and plenty of beach time.  Lucky, spoiled brat am I.

IMG_8603
Kicked off the weekend right with a champagne flight at Vino Volo at the airport. Cheers to the weekend!

IMG_8608
After a two-hour delay in Cincinnati, a two-hour delay in Newark and an hour drive to Cape Cod….we arrived to this. Whew.
IMG_8619
Lunch on Saturday started off right with oysters and whole lobsters at the Quarterdeck in Falmouth center. Seriously good seafood.  The rest of Saturday was spent at my Aunt’s house catching up with family and friends. So much fun. Sigh.

IMG_8639
Sunday was another beautiful beach day. We started with brunch at the Coonamessett Inn. I pretty much repeated my exact meal from last year because I’m cool like that.

IMG_8637
Sunday afternoon was spent beach lounging, while listening to the dulcet sounds of a Frank Sinatra impersonator.

For dinner, we veered off our usual beach shack route and dined at C Salt Wine Bar & Grill.
The restaurant is cozy small, but makes up for size in the outstanding service and dining experience. We started with a hearty round of (unpictured starters): Oysters, Duck Confit & Caramelized Brussels Sprouts and Sesame Hoison Wings. The Duck Confit & Caramelized Brussels Sprouts were my favorite. I want to eat that again. Now.

Dishes from around the table:
IMG_8641
The Vegetarian Tasting plate: An assortment of the vegetarian salads and sides on the menu. My sister and I each ordered this; and loved all the variety! We enjoyed a Crispy Rice cake with greens, grilled asparagus and Broccolini, roasted green beans and red peppers and more (heavenly) caramelized brussels sprouts.  IMG_8644IMG_8643
On the left, the Soft Shell Crab appetizer and a Spring Salad with a Roasted Statler Chicken Breast.

We rolled ourselves back to the resort and were all asleep by 10pm. Its what cool kids do on vacation (at Kellerman’s).

Monday found us meandering our back to my parent’s house.
We shell-searched along their rocky beach for a while, before digging into yet another great meal….
IMG_8664
Yes, yes, I AM eating oysters and lobsters again in one long weekend (along with a ton of other grill-out food) Did I mention I was spoiled?
IMG_8648 IMG_8649
Tuesday, my long weekend finished up with a Tito’s Bloody Mary on my (again delayed) flight through Newark.

IMG_8670

A beautiful weekend with family, and noone put Baby in the corner.

Leave a Reply

