Ranch Flavored Nut Crackers

I’ve made no secret of my love of the Blue Diamond Nut Thins, but seeing as these do not last long in my house (4 servings? Hmmm, I see two); I wanted to attempt to make my own for the sake of my wallet.

After doing some googling, I found out that A) Nut-Thins first ingredient is rice (what?)
B) Making my own entirely nut version would be simple as all get-out.

Sign me up.

I followed this recipe, as it seemed the most whole-food, nut-based, and um, easy.
We like easy when it comes to recipes. I adjusted Mark’s recipe to incorporate 1/2 packet of Simply Organic dry Ranch dip mix and I replaced the blanched almonds with 2 cups of Almond Flour, but otherwise, I  followed this recipe exactly.

Was it a success? Let’s see….

What I used: Olive oil, Sea Salt, Ranch dip mix, Egg, Dill  & Almond Meal/Flour.

IMG_8138
I simply mixed the dry ingredients together, added a beaten egg and olive oil and stirred until the dough came together. Since I used almond flour, I didn’t need to get out my food processor to crush the almonds. I found that a regular old bowl and fork worked perfectly to mix the dough.
IMG_8141
The author suggests two methods for slicing; I went with the log. Roll the dough into one super-long log, wrap it in plastic wrap and pop it into the freezer for a few minutes to make slicing it easier.IMG_8142
Using a sharp knife, I sliced “crackers” off the log and placed on a lined baking sheet.
IMG_8143
Bake in a 350 oven for 11 minutes and…

IMG_8145
You have these gorgeous things!

I loved the Ranch-Dill flavor; and that the edges were crunchy while the centers stayed a bit soft with great chew. These were WAY too easy to munch, and I found myself putting them in soup, on salads, serving with cheese and eating straight out of the tin. This recipe made about 75 little crackers  (about 15 more than a box of Nut Thins…just sayin’).

OK, Real Talk:

  • Do these Taste/Look like Nut Thins? Nope, not in the least.
  • Are they crunchy/snacky, made from whole foods and satisfying? Absolutely.
  • Will I make them again? Definitely, already wanting to experiment with cracker shape and flavors.

IMG_8149Nut-Thins, your reign is secure….for now.

Leave a Reply

