The Eagle OTR

Driving home on a particularly cranky night, I got a text from a friend I hadn’t seen in a while, “Grab a drink downtown?” it said. I believe my response was the screeching of tires, as I made a U-turn from heading home and headed directly downtown.

The Eagle is one of the newest additions to the bursting dining scene in OTR. Across the street from both KAZE and Quan Hapa, The Eagle is in good company. But with its unobtrusive sign, you may just miss it.

Don’t miss it.

Much larger than many of the establishments in the neighborhood, the Eagle boasts a rectangular bar in the center of the restaurant with dining areas on either side.

Even though it was a drizzly Wednesday night, the place was packed. I stalked snagged  two seats at the bar and waited for my friend. The kind bartender kept me in beer samples as I waited. In addition to a host of craft beers on-tap,, Eagle also features several local brews. I had to try a few samples, for quality assurance. Of course.

Properly settled together, I decided on a whim to have…a Bloody Mary, random, I know, but it sounded good.

IMG_8076
Oh snap, it looked even better.

That would be a house-made Bloody Mary with candied bacon, a pickled pepper/olive skewer with a celery and kale garnish. It was a drink and an appetizer all in one. I love that.  In addition to being a nice appetizer, the Bloody Mary itself was spicy and flavorful with the right consistency. As for dinner…IMG_8078…well, the bird is the word here, and The Eagle is known for their fried chicken. You can order whole, half or 1/4 birds with various sides. A few Southern-inspired starters and salads round out the menu, but yeah, get the chicken.

The guys next to me ordered the Fried Chicken Sandwich and I could not stop staring (my friend had to restrain me from asking for a bite), so I ordered it as well. A soft, but crunchy baguette STUFFED with a perfectly fried, not greasy piece of chicken, slathered in coleslaw and pickles. Rock me mama like pickle round, this was so so good.

My friend ordered a 1/4 dark meat chicken, and we shared a spoonbread  (a skillet cornbread) as well.  Deliciousness all around.

IMG_8079(hello chicken best friend, I like you)

For solid fried chicken, craft beers and a cozy setting, proceed directly to The Eagle.

I’ll text you on the way home to invite you.

 

Leave a Reply

