Snowy Groceries

Bestfriends, I am DONE with this weather. As I type this, there is a 4″ of snow and ice hanging on my trees/car/driveway/life. It is MARCH. I. am. over it. When I am complaining about the Cincinnati heat and humidity this summer, please smack me.

In preparation for yet ANOTHER snowstorm this past weekend, I went to the grocery store to buy MILK! and BREAD! (and wine!). I also managed to buy groceries for the week.

Dairy!
IMG_8046
Blue Diamond unsweetened Almond & Coconut Milk, Sartori Tuscan Reserve Shaved Cheese, Bolthouse Farms Ranch dressing, Private Selection Feta cheese, Eggland’s Best eggs, Private Selection Double Vanilla ice cream (essential) and Fage nonfat yogurt.

Protein! IMG_8048Trying to get more lean protein into my diet. The week before, I was low on groceries so it  was mostly grain-based pantry/freezer meals (wraps, pasta soup etc.). So I was looking to amp up my lean protein and veggies this week. Simple Truth ground turkey (for mini meatballs), Atlantic salmon (spoiler alert: Salmon burger recipe coming soon!), La Quercia Speck Americano (an American-style prosciutto for flavoring dishes) and Nova Lox, my usual love.

Things in the Pantry!

IMG_8049Assorted snacks and staples: My beloved Blue Diamond Nut-Thins crackers (gluten-free and SO DARN crunchy).  Simple Truth organic Mushroom Tomato Sauce. I’m not one for red sauce; but I thought I’d do something fun with it. I love that its organic and sugar-free (you’d be SHOCKED that most tomato sauces have sugar in them (why? why?). My stock-up item of the Simple Truth $1.69 Organic, Free-Range Chicken Broth (I love you forever) and Blue Diamond BOLD Wasabi & Soy Almonds. INCREDIBLE spice and flavor, get some.  A new snack item for me: Annie Chun’s Seaweed Snacks. Low carb and sugar-free, seems interesting…anyone try them? Old Bay Seasoning (for you know, seasoning things), Amoro Pesto Paste, Muir Glen Organic Fire Roasted Tomatoes, Simple Truth Great Northern Beans and finally, my favorite: La Croix Grapefruit seltzer. Well, my favorite until Polar Seltzer comes to my Kroger (HURRY PLEASE).

Veg!

IMG_8052Glory kale greens, Simple Truth organic broccoli florets, Avocados, Roma tomatoes, Button mushrooms, Parsley, Scallions, Radishes, Mini sweet peppers and finally Simple Truth organic spinach.

Overall!
Simple Truth is Kroger’s private label organic brand. I use alot of their products and they’re very affordable so that’s easy. Private Label Feta Cheese. Feta cheese is lower in calories and fat than other cheeses and so sharp – salads, look out.  I haven’t bought Simple Truth Organic Ground Turkey in forever, but given that its STILL WINTER, I think I’ll make some meatballs (Turkey meatball/kale soup anyone?). I’m excited to try the Amoro pesto paste…flavoring for eggs? Mix into soup? Bruschetta? Excited to try it! I love that the Glory Kale is already chopped and cleaned and ready to stuff into soup or a saute pan with maybe a little Speck Americano….

What did you buy this week?  Is it ice-covered where you live?

Leave a Reply

