Argo Trio Yourself

Last week, a few friends and I hit the movies in the suburbs. We saw Argo, which was an edge-of-the-seat kind of movie for me; but well worth it. If you have not seen, you must…and bring a Valium, I practically jumped out of seat 16 times (sorry people behind me.)

Anyway, after the movie, we were all in dire need of sustenance. Since we were out at the suburban movie theatre we decided to stay suburban for dinner.

Enter Trio. Trio is billed as Cincinnati fine-dining, but for a Friday night at 10pm casual dinner, it worked out just fine.

Rather than getting full meals, our group just ordered salads, flatbreads and soups.
I enjoyed a Wedge salad and a cup of French Onion Soup.


I do love a Wedge salad; so crunchy (and miles of bleu cheese help too). My soup had the requisite cheese crouton and rich broth.  Although I enjoyed my meal, it wasn’t anything too spectacular.

Spectacular was waiting here….

We opted to share a few desserts; and since I’m the girl who never wants the “chocolate thing” – the group acquiesced and ordered one chocolate thing and (on positive recommendation) a Banana Cream Pie.

Oh snap. A few things:
1) I didn’t know I liked banana pudding (apparently I do)
2) Those toasted flakes are actually lightly torched white chocolate (divine)
3) The crust was one happy, buttery graham cracker crust (cookie crust love)
4) Heck, even the strawberry was awesome (so fresh! so strawberry-rific!)

Even though six of us shared two desserts; my wee little dessert spoon kept finding its way back to this. So darn good.

Worth the trip to the suburbs just for dessert? Definitely.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    A couple of things here:
    1) Dear lord look at that hunk of blue cheese; I mean – lactose intolerants beware of this “Trio” place unless you have a death wish.
    2) Banana pudding is the banana bomb! Only outmatched by banana pudding popsicles. Have you ever had one? I don’t even know if they make them anymore – we used to get them in some ghetto supermarket. I think they even pre-dated jello-pudding pops (which I may add ALWAYS got stuck to my lips, ending in me bleeding all over my pudding pop). The lesson in this – popsicles can be dangerous. Lick at your own risk.
    3) Can Ben Affleck act? I’m still on the fence on that one.

Leave a Reply

