Scenes From a Cincy Thanksgiving

My Thanksgiving weekend was fantastic.
Great weather, amazing friends and excellent food.
A Thanksgiving win if you ask me.

Wednesday afternoon, I got to celebrate my friends’ child’s first birthday. It was so sweet and festive. A perfect way to kick off the holiday weekend.

Thursday morning was crisp and bright; I headed downtown to meet a friend to do the annual 10K through downtown Cincinnati and Kentucky. I was running late, so I ended up jumping in at Mile 2; but after circling back to my car (about 2 miles) from the finish; I definitely covered 6.2 miles! It felt great to be in another local road race.




After getting cleaned up and gathering my supplies; I headed over to my friend Keri’s; as she was hosting Thanksgiving (aka Slothsgiving) for a few friends! Sweatpants were highly encouraged; I wasn’t mad at that.

We talked, we chopped and we drank champagne while nibbling on
Apple-Cinnamon Corn Muffins (just a Jiffy mix with a tsp of cinnamon and peeled, diced apple stirred in).

My favorite part for sure, chatting in the kitchen, comparing recipes, getting calls from friends and family and drinking bubbles. Perfect. After a few hours in the kitchen, we sat down to feast:

          
Bacon & Herb Stuffing and Baked Pumpkin Ravioli.
Though I was excited to make the ravioli, I was not happy with the results (a bit too dry for my liking) once I perfect the recipe, I’ll post. The stuffing was delicious, savory and herby, delish!

         
Herbed Turkey Tenderloin and Classic Green Bean Casserole. Yum.

Shaved Brussels Sprouts with Bacon (recipe to come).
This came out great – I was very happy with the results!


My plate of happiness.


Pumpkin Cream Cheese Blondies with Pumpkin Ice Cream.
My third contribution was Annie’s Pumpkin Blondies. Although I followed the recipe closely (I made some substitutions and added a cream cheese layer)  these came out more like cake versus blondie. I think it was definitely user-error; because Annie’s recipes have never steered me wrong before!

After dinner, we watched the parade, which we had DVR’ed during the run/prep time. So much fun to watch the parade later. A few more friends joined us post-parade (ok, it was 8pm); and once everyone’s glasses had been refilled, we got to the serious business of board games. We played Balderdash and Taboo for 8 hours…I have realized that I am a Taboo savant and am thinking of quitting my job so I can dedicate my life to it.

Friday was spent doing errands and getting my Christmas tree! I had invited over some friends for a Saturday Afternoon “Wine Drinking, Tree Trimming” and I wanted to have the tree all set up.


I’ve been getting my tree from these nice guys for that past two Christmases, happy to go back for year 3! Thanks boys!

Saturday morning, I cleaned up my apartment, got out the Christmas decorations and made some tree-trimming fuel.

Black Pepper Chips, Grapes, Peppermint Bark Pretzels, Peppermint Sugar Cookies, Rosemary Ham & Gouda Stromboli, Baked Brie (unpictured: Mixed olives, Veggies and Greek Yogurt Dip)
          Ham and Cheese Stromboli, very similar to these recipes; but with Rosemary Ham, Goat Gouda and a heavy sprinkling of diced thyme and rosemary, served with a honey mustard dipping sauce. The baked brie is one of my favorites; recipe here.

After several hours and several bottles of wine, I had a beautifully trimmed tree (and several tipsy friends). A tree-trimming win!


Sparkly!


From my squirrel-friend to yours, hope you had a beautiful Thanksgiving weekend!
Here’s to Holidays 2012!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Your tree is lovely Hubble

Leave a Reply

