Sunday Honey

Oh hey, there you are. Where have you been? Oh wait, that’s me.
Things have been bizzay here in the Natti; but I’ve been thinking of you constantly. Really.

I especially thought of you last Sunday at brunch. In my opinion, Cincinnati lacks a boozy brunch culture.  In Boston, we would toddle to one of the many haunts in my neighborhood and lounge for a few hours over eggs and bloody marys; not a bad way to spend every a Sunday.  Since moving to Cincinnati, I haven’t really found solid brunch places that have excellent food, drinks and that lounge-here-for-hours vibe. I’ve found places with great drinks or great food or a great vibe; just not all three.

Until now.

Honey is not new to Cincinnati, but its new to me (still counts). I had heard wonderful things and was excited to finally try it. I corralled some girlfriends together and Sunday morning we set off to Northside.


Honey was all hardwood floors, comfy slatted chairs and big picture windows. I loved the vibe. But not as much as much as I loved this….


Oh hello lover. That would be the Crab Cake Eggs Benedict (the day’s special). Fresh and chewy English muffin, topped with a gorgeous crab cake, two perfectly poached eggs, and creamy hollandaise sauce. I’m sorry, was that my scale begging for mercy? Or just me crying tears of  delight? I loved this. Loved it so much I’m embarrassed to say how much because you might think I’m weird (too late?)


Let me show you what I’m talking about. Hello, happy runny-egg of deliciousness, why I will fork you up with a bite of perfectly seasoned crab cake and soft English Muffin, thank you very much.


The perfect bite.

As if this wasn’t getting ridiculous enough, we shared an order of their signature
Binkle Fries. Binkle Fries- new red potatoes served with chive sour cream and sweet Thai chili sauce

I mean how can you NOT order something called a Binkle? Don’t answer that.

I don’t love breakfast potatoes, but these had great texture, crisp but soft, and the sweet Thai chili sauce was an awesome accompaniment.

It wouldn’t be a boozy brunch without, well, booze.

I enjoyed a spicy bloody mary and it didn’t disappoint.
Right amount of heat and flavor and perfect for enjoying while lounging around.

Honey, you had me at brunch.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Cooking Cousin says:

    Can I send you the bill for my new keyboard since I drooled all over this one?

  2. Seriously. It was crazy good. Come visit and we’ll go! (no keyboards will be harmed).

  3. Jen says:

    Binkle fries. Worth repeating. Very satisfying blog post – it tickled my binkle fry.
    (please don’t kick me off for obscene blog-commenting).

Leave a Reply

