Caprese Pasta Salad

Sigh, back to work. My weekend was so full of good friends and fun, it’s tough to resume normal life. Lucky for me, I’ve got another 3 day weekend in a few weeks….thankbabyjesus.

Lets go back to the fun, I made this Caprese Pasta Salad for a party Saturday night and it was soooo good. And yes, my new love of Roma tomatoes is bizarre for me too.

Fresh basil and savory pesto smushed in a happy heap with creamy, rich mozzarella and crisp tomatoes. Love. I may just eat it everyday until my next long weekend. That’s not weird, right?

Caprese Pasta Salad

2 16oz boxes small-shaped pasta (shells, elbows, Orecchiette)
5 Roma tomatoes
2 8oz fresh mozzarella balls
1 bunch fresh basil
8oz basil pesto (I love Whole Foods version from their takeout pizza section)
Zest of one lemon
2 tbs Balsamic glaze (optional)
1 tbs sea salt
1/2 tbs cracked pepper
notes
I used Roma tomatoes because they’re not too seedy or juicy and hold up well in salad. However, you could certainly use grape, heirloom or garden tomatoes. For the mozzarella, you can use the boccoline (baby mozzarella balls) as well.

20120902-103013.jpg

Cook pasta according to package instructions. Rinse with cool water until pasta has cooled, drain thoroughly and set aside.

Dice tomatoes and mozzarella into 1/2″ cubes. Using kitchen shears, snip fresh basil into strips (chopping with a knife discolors the basil).

20120902-103051.jpg

Add sprinkle of sea salt and cracked pepper over this.

In a LARGE mixing bowl, combine pasta and pesto until completely coated. Stir in tomatoes, mozzarella, basil and lemon zest. Add sea salt and cracked pepper. Combine thoroughly. If inclined add balsamic glaze over the top – I loved the little punch it gave the salad. Taste here and add more salt/pepper if desired. Allow pasta to marinate in the fridge for an hour before serving. Serves 15 as a side dish.

20120904-224748.jpg

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Salad – did you put some kind of filter on that last photo? I may be off base here – but did YOU swipe that photo? A blog first! You know that one of the first rules of social media is TRANSPARENCY (at least that’s what the digital nerds tell me). Come clean Salad. You owe it to your readers (especially me).

Leave a Reply

