Its 1979

Get out your roller skates and Farrah Fawcett commemorative plates; we’re making
Chex Party Mix.  Oh yes, we are.

Although, I like to keep it healthy and make my own snacks, I love me some store-bought Chex Mix; it’s the perfect road trip snack and its highly addictive. BUT, I only really like the Chex. I don’t like the mini pretzels or bagel chips, just gimme the Chex.

Feeling inspired to make my own “Chex Only” mix; I strolled over to chexmix.com to see if I could find a recipe. Um, wow. I had no idea there was a whole world of homemade Chex mix out there. Oh, but there is. After some perusing; I decided on the Lemon Rosemary Chex mix. I love all things rosemary; and this seemed like a healthier option…although not-healthy sounds pretty good too. Naturally, I had to make some adjustments to the recipe….but I loved how it turned out. Crunchy, citrusy, herby and totally addictive.

Just as soon as a I decide which one of those Hazzard Duke boys is my favorite, I’m making some more…

Lemon Rosemary Chex Mix
Adapted from here
6 c. Rice Chex
2 tbs butter
2 tbs lemon zest
3 tbs fresh rosemary, diced
1/2 tbs Worcestershire sauce
1/2c. raw or unsalted almonds, chopped
Sea Salt Cracked Pepper
4 tbs Parmesan Cheese, grated

Directions:
Pre-heat oven to 250.
In a medium saucepan; melt butter, stir in lemon zest, rosemary, Worcestershire and almonds, add sprinkle of sea salt and cracked pepper. Remove from heat. In a large bowl combine butter mixture with cereal; stirring throughly so that the Chex is coated completely.


Spread mix evenly on a baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes, gently stirring, then bake for another 7-9 minutes, this should be lightly golden; but not browned.

While tray is still hot, sprinkle Parmesan cheese over the mixture and gently stir to combine. Allow mix to cool on sheet.


Store in an air-tight container. Devour while mooning over Ace on the Love Boat. Makes six one cup servings.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    That Chex-Mix site is truly epic. There’s more Chex-mix combos there than there are expired medications in my medicine cabinet. And trust me, I have A LOT of expired meds.

Leave a Reply

