Carted

Inspired by seeing Emily’s grocery shop last week, I realized its been a while since I’ve posted my own grocery haul. I stocked up on quite a bit over the weekend, so lets take this opportunity to get back into my cart (dirty? not sure)

My grocery shopping is usually a mix of Whole Foods, Kroger and Trader Joe’s finds – depending on what I need and where else I have errands. This week brought me to the Kroger. Let’s see what I got.

Fruits and Vegetables
This undoubtably is the bulk of my shop; I try to adhere to the “perimeter shopping” rules as much as possible, meaning, the bulk of your items should come from the sections in the grocery store in the perimeter: fresh produce, meat and dairy; with only select items coming from the middle aisles (ie packaged and canned).

From left: Button Mushrooms, Red Peppers, Globe Artichoke, Asparagus, Cilantro, Baby Spinach, Raspberries, Blackberries, Green Beans, Avocados, Scallions and Broccoli.

Most of these vegetables will go into salads for lunch and dinner. The artichoke (steamed and then grilled) will be a dinner one night. I’ll be making Thai food at some point this week so I’ll need the cilantro and scallions. The avocados, on-sale (whoo hoo); will most likely be added to salads or eaten as a snack with salt and lime. Raspberries and blackberries for snacking. Most of my produce is organic; I try to follow the “dirty dozen” list of priority organic items and my Kroger has great prices on organic produce ($3.99 for that huge tub of spinach – I’ll take it) so it’s fairly reasonable for me.

Protein & Dairy
From Left: Unsweetened Almond Coconut Milk, Lite String Cheese, Hormone-Free pre-cut Chicken Breasts, Organic eggs, Parmesan cheese, 2% Cottage Cheese, Goat cheese with honey, Aged Gouda, non-fat Greek yogurt and Portobello Burgers.

I recently discovered the Unsweetened Coconut and Almond milk and I love it. It tastes like a tropical booze-free pina colada (come to think of it, I’ve got rum somewhere….) and I love it in coffee or smoothies. I’m trying to increase my whole food snacks (less sugar and starch, more fruits, veg, dairy) so I picked up these lite string cheese snacks to take to work. I’m not a huge fan of chicken; but I’ve got to put a swimsuit on in two weeks and I know that grilled chicken is the perfect salad topper to keep me full with the least amount of fat/calories; I plan on doctoring it up, don’t you worry. Organic eggs; I love eggs for dinner, poached over a salad or scrambled for breakfast. Cheeses: Parmesan is my go-to for flavoring and I thought the goat cheese and gouda would be delicious added to salads. I like that these come in small portions, so its enough to sample without getting sick of it. The cottage cheese is a quick go-to breakfast (although I’m strictly a savory girl when it comes to cottage cheese. Cottage cheese and fruit? I think I just gagged a little – lots of black pepper and scallions for me, please!). The non-fat Greek yogurt is to use in place of sour cream or mayo in recipes and the Portobello burgers are a freezer staple.

Pantry Items
From Left: Peanut Butter Panda Puffs, Dark Chocolate, Organic Chicken Broth, Sundried Tomatoes Organic Garbanzo Beans, Natural Popcorn, Lite Coconut Milk, Organic Roasted Red Pepper Soup, Knorr Vegetable Soup Mix, Brown Rice Cakes, Brown Rice and Spicy V8.

I’m not much of a cereal-for-breakfast eater-I prefer my breakfasts savory over sweet; but I thought these would be a good “sweet treat” instead of cookies or ice cream…and if that fails, I have dark chocolate. Enough said. My Kroger sells Organic Chicken Broth for 1.79 – I’ve seen it elsewhere for as high as $4. I kind of want to buy 100 and hoard them; is that weird? I use chicken broth in everything; for soups, rice, vegetables, everything. The natural popcorn is another at-work snack, if I have my own healthy snacks; I won’t reach for the (ever-present) candy bowl. Roasted Red Pepper soup: yes, I eat soup when its 80 degrees out and I’m ok with it. I love this flavor; its great on its own; but excellent with additions like pasta, cheese or roasted broccoli to make a complete dinner. I like using some of the Knorr soup mix to make a quick vegetable dip (with nonfat greek yogurt) for snacking. Brown rice cakes were a random purchase. I didn’t want crackers or chips but wanted something snacky…we’ll see if this does the trick. Brown rice for dinners. I picked up these V8 on a whim also; I don’t drink juice; but I love V8 (like a bloody mary without the booze – are you sensing a trend here?). Lite Coconut milk is for my Thai adventures this week and I love garbanzo beans in salads. The sundried tomatoes are also a great addition because these are dried; but not packed in oil and don’t need to be reconstituted. Perfect for pastas, salads or eggs.

All in all, these haul cost about $95 dollars. A bit high for me; but I bought more pantry items (read: expensive) than usual so it should all balance out (last week’s grocery bill? $17 it all works out somehow!).

What did you buy this week?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Who the hell is Emily? And why is she showing you her grocery list???

Leave a Reply

