Chili Idea

After a chili feast I made for the beau (because you know how I feel about chili), I still had almost a full pan of cornbread leftover. Not quite sure what to do with this plethora of corn goodness, I went to the experts: the internet. Cornbread dressing? Cornbread Croutons? Cornbread-Chicken Casserole? As I was burning up the internet, the beau (calmly eating the cornbread straight from the pan) suggested a cornbread pudding.

For a man who likes chili, this was a pretty good idea.
Naturally, I made it better with apples, bourbon and almonds. Everything is better with bourbon almonds.

Apple Almond Bourbon Bread Pudding
1 8×8 pan baked  cornbread, roughly chopped in 1″ pieces
2 eggs
3 tbs bourbon
1/3c. brown sugar
2 c. milk
1 large apple (peeled and diced)
1/4c. dried cranberries
1/4c. sliced almonds
2 tbs cold butter, diced into cubes
1/4c. caramel sauce (homemade or store-bought)
Plain yogurt, ice cream or whipped cream (optional)

Pre-heat oven at 350. In a large bowl, combine eggs, sugar, bourbon and milk.  Add apple and cranberries. Add the cornbread and let sit until all the cornbread has soaked in the milk mixture (about 10-15 minutes). Pour mix into a greased 13×9 pan. Dot with butter and bake until golden brown, about 25 minutes. While still warm, drizzle with caramel sauce. Serve with plain yogurt, whipped cream or ice cream.  Serves 6 (or 3 if you have one piece and send the rest to work with the beau and his co-workers devour it).

The mix. Please dice your apples smaller than I did, impatience is my middle name. Let “a proper dice” be yours.


Let the mix soak to really get nice and boozy flavorful

Bake and devour. Do you see those little pockets of caramel? Those are my happy pockets.

This was a delicious dessert but I deem this perfectly acceptable breakfast food (ok, maybe brunch because of you know the hooch). Enjoy!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks pretty good, and everything is better with bourbon!

  2. Jen says:

    Instead of having “A Proper Dice” as my middle name, I’ll take “Roll the Dice”…..come on, yo-leven!!

  3. I wish I was rolling a yo-leven NOW.

Leave a Reply

