Oktoberfest Cincinnati

We’ve discussed Cincinnati’s love of all things German here; but did you know that Cincinnati (or Zinzinnati) is a sister city to Munich and boasts the largest Oktoberfest in the country and second largest in the world (next to Munich). Do you feel smarter, check yes or no?

Anyway, I couldn’t resist checking out the festivities on Saturday afternoon.
Downtown Cincy was transformed into a German village with blocks and blocks of German polka bands, biergartens, chicken hats, and FOOD.

I’m not just talking about a bratwurst here. Try brats, metts, limburger cheese sandwiches, homemade soft pretzels, cabbage and noodles, sauerkraut and miles of luscious German pastries, oh yeah…and BEER.
Let’s let the pictures do the talking:




I browsed all the stalls for a while, but ended up with just a beer (lame,  I know).

Here’s something fun….can you spot ME in the pictures above? Shouldn’t be hard for those who know me…..

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Two comments here:
    1) Now that I know what Goetta is, I don’t understand why people don’t eat it for breakfast instead of oatmeal? I mean – it has protein and oatmeal in it, right? Or maybe they do? I don’t know, but I know I didn’t hate it, and I like foods that are easy like that.
    2) There is a GIANT pot up there cooking up sausages, but it could probably cook up a person as well! I mean, it’s huge! I hope you didn’t get too close Salad…I was worried that was where you were hiding when you asked your question about finding you.

    PS: You’re at the Werther’s candy shoppe! PIck me up some of those Bit-o-honey’s as well so we can have a grandpa candy festival.

Leave a Reply

