Weekend of Good Food, Bad Pictures

Sorry to be away so long, its been busy up in here!

I had a DELICIOUS weekend, full of wonderful food and company but very few good pictures to show for it. Ugh, sorry.  I was too busy enjoying to snap away (lame, lame blogger).

Here goes…the carousel of bad pictures, but excellent food begins:

Friday afternoon: Andy’s Mediterranean Grille
Friday lunch with co-workers brought us to Andy’s. Famed for its Middle Eastern food; I was excited to try it for myself. The group ordered the Sampler platter (above) to share.
It contained from L: Feta cheese, tabouli, baba ghannouj, labneh, hummus, cabbage rolls, grape leaves & olives.I also ordered an Egyptian Falafel Salad as my lunch (diced tomato, cucumber, bell pepper, parsley, topped with falafel patties & tahini sauce).
The verdict? Fine; but not fabulous. I thought the baba ghannouj was nice and smokey; but the hummus and grapeleaves were just ok in my book. My salad was eh. I thought the falafel was too hard and my salad vegetables were a little wilty. I have a good bead on another Lebanese restaurant so we’ll have to see and compare. Gotta get my Leb food fix!

Friday night: Sung Korean Bistro

Friday night’s food more than made up for my lackluster lunch. After a quick glass of wine at a local pub with a friend, we decided we need real sustenance in the form of dinner, not jalapeno poppers. Around the corner to Sung Korean Bistro we went. Not being too familiar with Korean food; I was excited to dig in to the pickled kimchee, beef and noodle options. We shared a dumpling appetizer and a spicy tuna maki roll; which were both good; but garden variety. We were really there for the Bibimbab.
The what?
The DOLSOT BIBIMBAB
Spinach or watercress, rice, bean sprout, carrot, radish and lettuce topped with an egg sunny side up with your choice of beef, chicken, pork, or tofu. Served in heated hot stone bowl with Go-chu-jang (Korean spicy chili bean paste sauce) on the side.

The above picture is NOT doing this justice. This was a flavorful bowl of happiness with fresh vegetables, bean sprouts and in my case, tofu. All expertly flavored and piping hot from the stone bowl in which it was served(the benefit to the stone bowl in addition to keep my dinner hot throughout my dinner was that it made most of the rice at the bottom of the bowl deliciously crunchy). This bowl of love was served tableside by the server with the addition of a sunny side up egg, which the server mixed into the dish along with the desired amount of chili paste. Accompanied by several pickled things (kimchees and mushrooms and the like for sprinkling on top) this was the perfect balance of crunchy, soft, savory, spicy and cool. I LOVED THIS. I seriously cannot wait to go back. Absolutely divine.

Saturday Night: Grill out with friends, one more at Terry’s Turf Club

Most of my Saturday was spent slothing around, I did manage a quick 2.5 mile run, but it was HOT out there; this Boston girl is still is adjusting to Cincinnati heat. After soaking in a cold bath, taking a quick shower, I headed to a friend’s house for a grill-out.
I brought my Fresh Antipasti; hey, if it works, it works, and enjoyed grilled vegetables, salad, a homemade burger, and about 1000 chips/dips. Perfect grillout food, and a gorgeous night for backyard settin’.

The beau had met a friend at Terry’s Turf Club for dinner, so I headed over there at the end of the evening to say hello to them. I’ve spoken of my love of Terry’s Turf Club before; and really I need to do it justice with better pictures; but it’s just fantastic upscale burgers in a retro atmosphere. The live jazz and peanut shells on the floor only makes it more fabulous.  I shared a few sips of the beau’s beer and had a GIANT glass of water before heading home to crash.

Sunday: Cock & Bull and Chez Salad

Sunday was jam-packed! I cleaned my apartment, did laundry, got groceries, went for a 4.5 mile run (WHAT a difference 10 degrees makes!) and prepped dinner all by 5pm. When the beau asked me what I wanted to do next, I replied “Drink a bloody mary on a patio”. Done and done. We headed over to the newly opened Cock and Bull pub in Hyde Park square. C&B has a huge front patio and although we were seated in the back patio initially, we asked to move out front, people-watching was crucial. My bloody mary was perfectly fine; my Dad’s are better; but it was  a nice wind-down to my busy day. Can’t say I was too impressed with C&B, but then we only had one drink and then skeedaddled; so maybe its fantastic and I just dont’ know? Could be…

We were in a rush to get to my apartment to get grillin’! I had bought some steak (on sale…whoo hoo!); and I had put kabobs on to marinate that morning. When we got in, I quickly skewered them and we were ready to go. Love when dinner is easy like that.



Beef Kabobs
For marinade:
1.5 lbs grilling steak, trimmed of extra fat and chopped into 1″ cubes
1 bottle Italian dressing of your choice
4 garlic cloves, peeled and roughly chopped
1 handful of fresh cilantro or parsley, roughly chopped
For skewering:
10-15 wooden skewers
1 bag baby golden onions (so darn cute!)
2 peppers, one red, one yellow, seeded and chopped into 1″ pieces

Combine all of the marinade ingredients in a large glass or stainless steel bowl. Allow meat to marinate 2 hours or overnight. Soak wooden skewers in water for 30 minutes (to prevent burning). Cook baby onions according to package instructions for easy peeling (and really how darling are they?). Skewer onion, meat and pepper in whatever order you would like until all ingredients are skewered. Grill according to your temperature specifications. Serves 4.

On the side, we grilled some mushrooms.

We shared a Sierra Nevada Harvest beer to drink (a little IPA-y for my taste but not bad). I also put together a quick Asian-style Slaw to go with the Kabobs. So refreshing and crunchy!

Asian-Style Slaw
(So easy and mayo-free!)
1 small head of cabbage, sliced into long shreds (or shredded in a food processor)
1/2 red pepper, julienne
1/2 yellow pepper julienne
3 scallions, sliced
1/3 c. almonds, sliced
Optional: ramen noodles, water chestnuts, baby corns
Dressing:
1/2 c. olive oil
Juice from 1/2 lime
1 tbs soy sauce
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tbs Gourmet Garden lemongrass
1 tbs Gourmet Garden cilantro
1/2 tbs brown sugar
Squirt of Sriracha (optional)

In a large bowl, add vegetables and almonds and the optionals if you’re using them. In a small bowl, combine the ingredients for the dressing, whisk until throughly combined. Pour over vegetable mix and combine well (I massaged the salad a bit, to help the lime juice break down the cabbage a little bit). Allow this to marinate for an hour or so as well. Serves 4.

So there you have it; LOTS of delicious meals, wonderful company and not so great pictures. I’ll take the first two over the third any day!

How was your weekend?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Cutie Patooty says:

    Steve loves bimbimbab. We go to our favorite Korean restaurant alot (Misono in brookline on VFW parkway) I started taking bites of his and now I love it too! I can’t decide if its the fresh frieg egg over the fried rice or the yummy red spicy sauce thye serve on the side but we love BIM BIM BAB!

    1. Um, it kind of changed my life and I want it tonight.

  2. Jen says:

    I don’t care if it tastes like dog poo – I just want to say: BIMBIMBAB!!! So fun!

Leave a Reply

