Sausage, Ricotta Grilled Pizza

I’ve been wanting to try pizza on the grill, because well, everything else I’ve made in the last few weeks has been grilled. At least I’m consistent.

“Sausage” Ricotta Grilled Pizza
8oz NF ricotta
1 tbs fresh oregano
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tbs olive oil (plus extra for the grill)
2 garlic cloves, peeled and diced
1/2 large white onion, peeled and diced
1/2 lb Vegetarian Sausage (I used Gimme Lean) or you could use ground pork sausage
(Note on Vegetarian Sausage: This is an easy way to have a meatless dinner without sacrificing any of the “meat” in your meals if that’s important to you. The beau still doesn’t know this was vegetarian…shhhhh).
1 tbs fresh rosemary
1/2 tsp sage
31-2 tbs red wine (or stock or water)
2 tbs Parmesan cheese
1/2 red pepper, thinly sliced into rounds
1/2 c. Shredded mozzarella cheese (I used Parmesan since I was out of mozz)
Sea Salt
Black Pepper
1 lb whole wheat pizza dough (or make your own)
Cooking spray
Side dish: 1 super gigantic Portobello mushroom. You could slice this VERY thinly and add to the pizza; but we enjoyed it grilled on the side.

In a small bowl, mix ricotta, oregano, garlic and several grinds of sea salt and black pepper. Taste, adjust seasonings and set aside.

In a medium skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic and onions and saute for 3-4 minutes until lightly browned. Add sausage, breaking it up with a fork or wooden spoon into crumbles. Once browned slightly, add rosemary, sage and a pinch of sea salt and black pepper. At this point, the mix may be sticking a little, so deglaze the pan with a bit of red wine if you have it handy (literally I was drinking a glass and just tipped some in) but other liquids will work fine.Once the mixture is browned nicely, turn off heat, stir in Parmesan cheese and set aside.

Using your ball of pizza dough, gently stretch into a circle or rectangle. A good tip I read was to hold it by the edges, working in a circle motion and let gravity pull it down. This worked well with no holes in the dough.

Meanwhile, slice up the monster Portobello, and drizzle with olive oil, sea salt and cracked pepper.

(do you see my hand in there for scale?? That is one big ‘shroom (TWSS?)).

Once you get over the giant fungi, you’re read to grill. Heat your grill to med-high heat, you want it hot. Dipping a folded paper towel into some oil, grease the grates of the grill well (I used tongs to get the paper towel on the grate since that bad boy was HOT). Spritz the pizza dough with oil as well. Gently slide the dough. oil side down onto the heated grill. Add the sliced mushrooms around the perimeter to cook as well. Put the cover on and let bake for 3-4 minutes. After a few minutes, the bottom crust of the pizza should be slightly browned and the top should be bubbling, that’s when its time to flip!

Well done crust.

Flipping the pizza required both the  beau and I and a steady hand; since my grill isn’t that big;  so phone a friend if you need to! As soon as you flip the dough, get to layering on toppings. I read a tip that said not to make the pizza too heavy or soggy and that’s good advice. Spread a thin layer of the ricotta cheese, add the red pepper rings, then an even layer of the sausage mixture. Finally sprinkle the mzarella cheese over the top. Turn the mushrooms over as well.  Cover and cook another 3-4 minutes, once the cheese has melted on the pizza, everything is done!
Hello, you delicious meat-free beauty.As the beau and I were happily munching mushrooms and pizza and finishing off the “cooking wine” – he looked at me (adoringly, naturally) and said “Wouldn’t this have been better with CRAZY FETA on it?” I would have been insulted if I hasn’t wished I had thought of it first…..

Oh well, more things to GRILL!


7 Comments Add yours

  1. gail says:

    I mean, I could bite my computer.

    1. As a blogger, that’s really all I’m looking for 🙂 Hope you’re well, friend!

  2. Cutie Patooty says:

    Wow. That is. Umm. A big mushroom you got there. Please be sure to add it to wierd veggies section please. Oh, and now I am definitely convinced that OHIO’s status as the most toxic state in the nation has affected the food growing region there. That mushroom could have its own zipcode.

    1. And it was delicious!

  3. Lilmurph says:

    Looks amazing sans mushroom although I’m not sure I can even think about eating something warm in this over 100 degree weather in Boston!

    1. Ha! It’s over 100 in humidity everyday here- you’ll have to toughen up by August!

  4. Jen says:

    I’ve said it once, and I’ll say it again: SPORKIE!!

    Although, this time I guess it was not really a SPORKIE since it was meatless…oh well.

Leave a Reply

