Winey

The beau and tried The Wine Guy Bistro last week. A popular haunt in my neighborhood, we were lured in by the breezy patio and large wine selection.

The restaurant specializes in serving wine flights; 2 0z pours of four different varietals.
I say, when in Rome…. order lots of wine.

Once settled on the patio, we were brought warm Whole Grain Pita with a Sundried Tomato Cream Cheese to start.

The pita was warm and fluffy; I *may* have eaten all but one piece. The cream cheese was fine but didn’t knock my socks off.

Just as I was stuffing the last bite in, nibbling my piece of bread, our wines arrived.
I opted for the White Wine flight (see menu above).


I thought the pours were very generous; and I loved the numbered tray that held the glasses so you knew which variety you were sampling. I was a pain in the vineyard and swapped out the Chemistry White Wine Blend for a glass of their Sparkling White; but you could have seen that coming, right?  I loved being able to sample several wines at once, and I really enjoy all four of my tastes.

After sipping for a bit, the beau and I decided to order some plates to share for dinner.  What’s nice about the dinner menu is that many salads and dinners are offered in “half portion” or “tapas” portion for sharing.

Caesar Salad (Half Portion)– Crispy Chopped Romaine, Parmesan Cheese and house made croutons tossed in a creamy Caesar Dressing. I’m sorry to say this was blah. The lettuce was dry and the dressing had no flavor. We both managed only a bite or two of this.
Cajun Scallops (Tapas Portion) – Spicy sautéed scallops served with candied walnuts and crumbled bleu cheese, then finished with a raspberry sweet and sour reduction.

This more than made up for the lackluster caesar. We both loved this; the scallop was perfectly cooked and spiced well; and the candied walnut salad was so perfectly sweet, savory and crunchy; delightful.
Perfectly cooked scallop.

Chicken Marsala  (Full portion) – Tender chicken breast dusted with seasoned flour, pan seared and finished with a Mushroom Marsala reduction. Plated with sliced baby red potatoes in a thyme butter sauce and garnished with asparagus.

This was back to the blah with the Marsala. The sauce lacked that distinct Marsala wine flavor that gives this dish its name (and judging by the sauce color, I’m not sure how much was even used). Also, the fresh tomatoes on Chicken Marsala was just confusing. I was hoping that a wine restaurant would have a killer wine-based dish, but this wasn’t the case.

Despite the mixed review on the menu; I think we’ll be back. We really enjoyed the patio(and the interior restaurant looked beautiful) as well as the wine flighting menu. We’ll just be sure to order extra scallops.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Such a pretty setting filled with fabulous food. Lucky you!

    1. Thanks, I do love a patio!

  2. Jen says:

    Yes but have you been to “The Wine Guy Listro”? I hear Listro’s are all the rage in the Natti.

Leave a Reply

