Border Placebo

I’ve made no bones about my love of Border Cafe in Boston.
The delicious Cajun food, the cheap margaritas, the fun, casual atmosphere.

After moving to Cincinnati, I couldn’t hope that there would be a fun, Tex-Mex/Cajun place close to my house. Oh dream big, Salad, dream big.

Allyn’s Cafe is my dream of a Cincinnati Border Cafe come true.
A full menu of Mexi/Cajun/BBQ delights and margaritas as far as the eye could see.

The beau and I stopped there for a  lunch last weekend and upon finishing our meals, he looked at me, and declared Allyn’s his new favorite casual restaurant. High praise indeed.

On our visit, we sat out on their comfy patio and soaked up some Cincinnati summer heat while reviewing the menu.

I started with a margarita, while the beau had a beer.

It wasn’t as magical as I was hoping, but it did the trick.

We each got a small dinner salad with our entrees; a simple mix of romaine, cucumber, mushrooms, cheese and tomato. It was pretty tasty for a side salad. I had Jalapeno Ranch dressing on the side there.

The beau and I shared two entrees:
Seafood Platter (Blackened Catfish, Popcorn Shrimp, Blackened Sea Scallops, Hushpuppies (!) and vegetable)
Jambalaya (with Chicken and Sausage)

We both loved the Seafood platter. The shrimp was crisp without being greasy; and the blackened catfish and scallops were spicy and melt-in-your-mouth tender. I loved the cocktail sauce (instead of tartar); and heck, I even liked the broccoli on the side. The Jambalaya was a little less spectacular in the way of flavor; but if you’re looking for a big bowl of Cajun comfort; this would be it.


The carby goodness that accompanied our meals were standouts for sure. I loved the cornbread, which had a little kick to it; and the beau loved the crispy little bites of hushpuppy love.

Allyn’s also had live music on certain nights and an impressive wine shop. I can’t wait to check both out; because if the beau has anything to say about it; we will be back and soon.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Lizzy says:

    Your pictures look gorgeous and the food looks fabulous! Border Cafe misses you as much as I miss you which is A LOT! Come back!

  2. I miss you all – I need some running inspiration here!

  3. Jen says:

    I would have forgiven their hideous plastic tablecloth choice if you would have said the margarita was fantastic…

Leave a Reply

