Decisions

I had 1 lb of shrimp and 1/2 lb of lump crabmeat that I had to cook Wednesday night. What to do, what to do…… Should I make Crab, Corn Chowder? Crispy Shrimp Tacos? Heart-attack inducing, but oh-so-delicious Hot Crab Dip? Each of these recipes was gorgeous and delicious in their own way. Decisions…..

In the end, I did what I do best, I poured a glass of wine, and threw some things in a pan. End Scene.

Cajun Shrimp
2 tbs butter
2 cloves of garlic, sliced
1 medium white onion, sliced
3 stalks of celery, cleaned and diced (optional)
1 small green or red pepper, cleaned and diced (optional) 
2 tbs Cajun seasoning
Hot sauce (optional)
1 lb deveined, tails off, raw shrimp
1 handful of flat-leaf Italian parsley, roughly chopped (no stems!)

Using a heavy saucepan (or cast iron skillet), melt butter over medium heat. add garlic, onions and other vegetables if using. Sautee until vegetables are soft, add Cajun seasoning (and hot sauce) and toss until well-coated. Add shrimp, gently stir until shrimp are fully cooked (opaque throughout). Add parsley and wilt. Serve over rice. Serves 3. 

I did muster up the energy to put together these delicious Crab Stuffed Mushrooms….see I’m not all bad.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms (& Crab Cake Bites)
I followed this recipe from I was Born To Cook  over on  Tasty Kitchen 
What was great about this recipe is that is makes ALOT. When I ran out of mushrooms to stuff, I simply shaped the remaining batter into crab cake bites.
Win-win.

Gotta have a tartar sauce for a crab cake bite….
5-minute remoulade
1/4c. olive oil-based mayonnaise
1 tbs capers (with a splash of the brine)
Lots of cracked black pepper
Pinch of sea salt
1 tbs dill
1 tsp lemon juice

Whisk thoroughly and chill before serving. Makes 1/3 cup.

Make these RIGHT NOW to have your own glass of wine….Happy Friday!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Cute Patooty says:

    Someone needs a manicure-that last crab cake bite looks so yummy if not for the destroyed fingernail holding it:)

  2. Jen says:

    I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: Shrimp – WHOGT

Leave a Reply

