Weekend Rewind

A little late, but here it is!
My weekend was full of Cincinnati-specific events, and I really felt a part of the city….without further ado…..

Friday afternoon, I tried a Cincinnati institution…Zip’s Cafe. Zips is known as the best burger in town; and I was pretty excited to try it. A diner-type setting with a toy train that runs on a track around the restaurant, Zips looks like Central Casting’s idea of a “quaint burger joint”.

Their burgers were anything but quaint. Flavorful, delicious and not tricked out with anything but quality meat and bread, Zips was an American classic at its finest. I felt like I should be pulling up my bobby sox and heading to the Sadie Hawkins dance.
From the classic to the brand-new, the beau and I had dinner Friday night at Senate. We’re fools for hot dogs…as you know. We had another drink or two at our local bar, which had live music and then called it a night because….Saturday morning, I participated in my first Cincinnati 5K; the “Go OTR” Run to benefit our local community, Over-The-Rhine.

A beautiful day; but HOT. And since I’ve been slacking big time, it was definitely a struggle to crank it out. But it felt good to get back out there and I’m excited for more running events around town. The 5K culminated in a street festival with beer, music and food – perfect! It made me a bit nostalgic for my beloved Harpoon 5-miler which my friends were running the next day; but here’s to new traditions!

After a Saturday afternoon of running errands, I stopped for a quick dinner at Noodles. A  noodle chain that specializes in Asian, Italian and American style noodle dishes. I opted for Asian, my favorite:

Thai Soup and Indonesian Peanut Noodles with Tofu (and a lemonade).

For being fast-casual, I thought my dishes were pretty good. I loved the soup, and the noodle dish while a little too hot for me, was fresh and flavorful.  Noodles, who knew?

Sunday morning, the beau and I headed back to Findlay Market. This fabulous place deserves its own post, which is coming soon, I promise. After picking up fresh produce, pasta and sausage, we met a friend for a beer to be enjoyed at the Findlay Market Biergarten. Not a bad way to while away a Sunday afternoon..


After walking home, the beau and put together a simple dinner with our market booty (TWSS?).

Ohio City Fresh Shrimp & Crab Ravioli…..

……….doctored up with braised fresh fennel and toasted almonds

Served with Ohio City’s Roasted Garlic Parmesan sauce….


Served with a salad of simple greens that had been picked that morning, courtesy of OTR Homegrown (available at Findlay Market).

After this whirlwind weekend, I fell asleep watching 30 Rock at 8:30pm.
Busy, busy weekend!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    How can you taunt me with a description of the mini train choo-chooing around that Zip’s place and then not show a photo? I hope that the little train is used to deliver your salt and pepper to you, or bring you a refill on your sody. Maybe you can put little notes on it, hide them in the trains’ caboose, and send them along to fellow diners to enjoy with their burgers.

    Engine engine number 9…on the new york trainsit line…if that train falls off the track, pick it up, pick it up, PICK IT UP…………

Leave a Reply

