Sharing

I have some Italian dishes to share, one homemade by me, and a few homemade by the good people at Bertuccis 🙂 Let’s do this Italian thang…..

My homemade: Pasta with Pancetta and Broccoli Rabe
2oz angel hair pasta
1/2 tbs olive oil
1 clove of garlic, minced
2 slices of thick-cut bacon or Pancetta
1/2lb broccoli rabe, cleaned with ends trimmed (keep leaves)
3 Italian black olives, chopped
Sea Salt & Cracked Black Pepper

Broccoli Rabe (also called rapini)


(source)

Set a saucepan over med-high heat. Heat oil, add garlic. Saute for 3 minutes, add bacon/pancetta. Allow to crisp (may take up to 10 minutes, (don’t want very much fat left on this). Once pancetta is crispy, using a slotted spoon, remove garlic/pancetta from grease. Carefully strain all but 1 tbs of grease into a grease can/coffee mug for disposal. Return pancetta to pan, add broccoli rabe. Add 2 tbs of water, cover and allow to wilt.

Set a separate pot of water on to boil; once boiling; add angel hair and cook according to al dente instructions. Strain and set aside.

Once broccoli rabe is wilted, add sea salt, freshly ground pepper, and be sure to coat the rabe with the pancetta/garlic mix. Add pasta to saucepan, toss to coat. Right before serving add chopped olives, toss well and serve. Serves 1.



Their homemade:
Torta Rustica & Arugula Salad with Grilled Chicken


My friend Beany went for the Salad….which looks so fresh!


I had the Torta Rustica (it came with sausage, but I opted for extra asparagus instead).
So yummy!


And a glass of wine….how did that get in there?!!?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    I would like to disclaim that the photo of the salad was NOT your friend Beanys. I requested NO ORANGES on my salad. You can see the edge of my salad next to that lovely glass of Chianti…and I KNOW how that got in there. I ordered it and drank it all up!

Leave a Reply

