Eating Ohio: Part IV (Christmas!)

Christmas was the last stop on my eating tour of Ohio; the sold-out Madison Square Garden stop of the tour.

Missed “Eating Ohio: Part I”?
Missed “Eating Ohio: Part II”?
Missed “Eating Ohio: Part III”?

Christmas Day Brunch started out on the right note with a traditional lox and bagels spread (and Champagne, but of course):

The spread:

  • Dill, Capers
  • Onions, Cucumbers
  • Lox
  • Toasted Whole Wheat Mini Bagels (and leftover Crab Cakes – delish!)
  • Homemade Herbed Cream Cheese

I also made a batch of Trader Joe’s Triple Berry Muffins: SO good.

After eating and lounging (and putting the dog in a Santa suit, don’t look at me like that, he loved it), I got my kitchen game face on….and out came the appetizers…..

Goat Cheese & Applewood Bacon Stuffed Mushrooms

Two types of baked, stuffed cheese in puff pastry: 

  • Baked Brie with Apricot Jam, Almonds and Honey:

  • Baked Bleu Cheese, Apples, Honey & Black Pepper

Assorted Cheese Plate:
Bleu Cheese, Cabernet Wine Cheese with Apples and Pita Crackers


The ever-popular mini-hot dogs wrapped in puff pastry and dusted with cheese:)


I had made a homemade honey mustard to go with this and Sausage, Cheddar Balls I had made also but some of my pictures were eaten by my camera; I don’t blame Mr. Snap; those apps were delicious. I also made another round of the Butternut Ravioli with Caramelized Onions since it was such a hit that didn’t show up (bad, hungry, Mr. Snap!)

(My first of many plates)

After enjoying all the appetizer deliciousness, we were too stuffed to actually make the Christmas dinner I planned, so we all poured another glass of wine and went straight for dessert!

Holiday Funfetti cookie sandwiches

Trader Joe’s Gingerbread Cake, made into muffins…..

….and iced with a homemade cream cheese frosting.

….topped with this AMAZING (and Ohio-local) Jeni’s Splendid Salted Caramel ice cream

I love you, salty and sweet. Yum!

But what about the Roast Beast? Fear not, I made my Christmas dinner…..on 12/26!
I’m a maverick, what can I say.

After we nibbled on the party leftovers from Christmas; we got down to the main event.

My Christmas menu:

  • Apricot-Mustard Pork Loin
  • Collards cooked with Garlic and Bacon
  • Baked Acorn Squash with Butter, Honey, Salt & Pepper
  • Green Salad with Apples and Honey Mustard Dressing

  • Apricot-Mustard Pork Loin
  • Collards cooked with bacon and garlic

  • Steamed Acorn Squash (with honey, butter, salt & pepper)
  • Apple-Bleu Baked Cheese that we didn’t get to on 12/25!

All in all, a delicious couple of days! But the best part was sharing the season with friends and family; I hope you had a blessed and beautiful holiday!

(I’ll be getting around to posting all the recipes from my “Eating Ohio” series in the next week or so 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jade says:

    I want to eat one thousand Goat Cheese & Applewood Bacon Stuffed Mushrooms. Can you accommodate?

  2. Jen says:

    Were you cooking for 2 or 200?

    1. I have no sense of portion size when cooking. Its the Lebanese in me; I start to cook 2 pork chops and all of a sudden, I’m like “what if…..” and suddenly there’s an entire pig being roasted in the front yard. I can’t help it.

Leave a Reply

