Eating Ohio: Part III

And….I’m still eating Ohio.

Missed “Eating Ohio: Part I”?
Missed “Eating Ohio: Part II”?

Planning on cooking last night; we stopped into pocco a pocco, a Latin-style restaurant for a pre-dinner cocktail. Cava (Spanish sparking wine) with a splash of pomegranate liquor for me. Delicious!

Dinner was the following Italian feast!

Buongiorno, you beautiful antipasti!

(From L: Salami, Prosciutto, Fresh Mozzarella, Sundried Tomatoes, Assorted Olives, Prosciutto & Provolone stuffed Vinegar Pepper, Artichoke Hearts & Roasted Red Peppers (with balsamic vinegar, assorted crackers and veggies).

I was full after this; but I had dinner made as well. Twist my arm…..

I present the Barefoot Contessa’s Wild Mushroom Risotto.

I followed the recipe pretty closely except I omitted the saffron and added 1 clove of garlic. Risotto requires alot of love in the way of you just stand there and stir….and stir….and stir some more…

….but the payoff is well worth it….

Thick, creamy risotto with the rich saltiness from the pancetta and with delicious chew from the mushrooms, I literally cried when the leftovers were gone.

The eating train is pulling into the station with the big kahuna, Christmas Day….come on back for more Eating Ohio.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Okay – here is what really stands out to me about this Ohio trip. That AMAZEY table made out of bottle-caps. What is that? Priceless Heirloom? Crafting gone crazy? MUST HAVE DETAILS. I’m in love with it.

  2. LOVE LOVE LOVE that you commented on that “piece of art” – It was definitely hand-made with love and will most likely become a family heirloom (sigh).

Leave a Reply

