Eating Ohio: Part II

My eating tour of Southern Ohio continues….let’s get into it.

Missed “Eating Ohio: Part I”?

I love a grocery store; and I got to spend some time at a foodie’s mecca:
Jungle Jim’s .

This market was literally MILES of every fruit, vegetable and ethnic cuisine you could imagine. Banana leaves? They’ve got them. 18 kinds of shrimp chips? They’ve got them. Every ice cream you could imagine, they’ve got it. Not to mention, aisles and aisles of beer, wine, toiletries and even cigars. Wild.
I may or may not have spent 3 hours there. No judging. Are you digging the Jungle theme?

These pictures do not even do it justice….but I’ll try.


Just a big ole wall of sprinkles; no big deal.

Love the British section: Cadbury Chocolate and….


….Haggis.


What’s Haggis you ask? Haggis is a dish containing sheep’s ‘pluck’ (heart, liver and lungs), mincedwith onion, oatmeal, suet, spices, and salt, mixed with stock, and traditionally simmeredin the animal’s stomach for approximately three hours. source

And moving on…..to the Middle Eastern section….

]
Foule, Hummus and Baba Ghanoush, oh my!

And then I saw the insects-as-a-snack section…..


I told you they had everything…..

….including 25-lb bags of carrots? No big deal.And then I saw …. The Butter Bar.


I think I hear Paula Deen weeping with delight.

And this was where I started to weep with delight…..
Cheese…..

And more cheese….

(plus 2 more aisles of gorgeous choices…swoon)

And then I saw a whole wall of Champagne.

Jungle Jim’s; you complete me.

Once back in the kitchen; I put together a Southern-inspired meal:

Homemade Crab Cakes with Remoulade, Cornbread drizzled with Warm Honey Butter
(and a mixed greens salad with Annie’s Goddess dressing).

The crab cakes were AMAZING; I baked rather than fried them, and honestly, there was no difference in flavor or texture. I pretty much followed Ellie Krieger’s recipe to a T, except for swapping out regular bread crumbs for panko bread crumbs; and they were delightful. I used Sandra Lee’s recipe for Cajun remoulade. Finger-smackin’ good.

Back out into the world of Ohio, we stopped by Teller’s in Hyde Park for brunch.

Three words: Bloody.Mary.Bar.

Spicy Bloody Mary with an array of garnishes: pickles, asparagus, peppers, bleu-cheese stuffed olives and more. Delightful.

I kept it simple for lunch with a grilled salmon over salad. Simple but efficient.

Are you feeling like a Buckeye yet? Stay tuned, there’s more. Seriously, there is.

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Did the British section have my favorite treats? I didn’t see them in your photo:
    – Fruit Pastels
    – Wine Gums
    – Crunchie bar

  2. Girl, they all it ALL; I seriously wanted to get my sleeping bag and live in Jungle Jim’s.

Leave a Reply

