Why Not Wine Wednesday

My friend Adonis recently moved a few houses down from me;  so we’re officially neighbors! I’ve been dying to do a casual night at his new place; seeing as we’re so close and all.
We agreed to hang out on Wednesday as a “Wine Night Wednesday” or “Why Not Wine Wednesday”.  Fun!   Around 7pm, I threw on my Uggs and sweats (hooray for hanging out with neighbors!); and headed over to his new place.


Gorgeous right? And this is only one corner of the living room.  Please note the working fireplace. Swoon. I may be living on his white sofa from here on out.

As I got busy opening the wine I brought; Adonis ordered us pizza from a local pizza delivery place (Pizza Pie-er).
Of course I couldn’t come over with just wine….I had to bake a huge batch of cookies; I mean it’s what I do:

Dark Chocolate and Caramel
and
Dried Cranberry and White Chocolate Chip

(the other half of this batch is being sent off to Sister, our YKOS Baby Name winner!)


This batch was a straight up old-school Betty Crocker recipe; with my only tweaks being using Whole Wheat Pastry Flour, and about 1/3 less sugar (since I was adding some yummy stuff).
True story: Betty was the first cookbook my mother bought me when I moved into my own apartment (well, that and the Arabic Church Cookbook , of course).
I still reference Betty if I want an American recipe in its most simple, original form.

As Adonis and I ate our Artichoke White Pizza on Multigrain crust with a crispy Caesar Salad, we caught up on all manners of each others’ lives.

The best part? Getting home took approximately 30 seconds.

A perfect Why not Wednesday!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Dang that cracklin’ fire beats the potential fire-arms in my neighborhood. BUT – you can still wear your sweats to my house to visit! Ain’t no judgement in my hood!

    1. Reason #1 why we’re friends!

Leave a Reply

