All We Need Is a G-U-Y

As you know, if you’ve been following along on the Salads and Spirits Summer 2010 Train; I’ve been hitting up restaurants and bars in Boston for WWCs (Work Week Cocktails) in an effort to go to bars A to Z in one summer.

Well, it’s the week of Labor Day; so this challenge is rapidly coming to an end. Part of this adventure was not only to try new restaurants (drink during the work week), relax with friends (avoid cleaning my apartment) but also to meet new people (talk to cute boys). So although the last few months have been a BLAST; not too many people (cute boys) have been met.

After tallying up some letters at the end of last week to see what was left of this challenge; I laughed out loud to see that after 3 months, 23 bars and endless glasses of champagne; I still needed letters G, U, Y (GUY) to complete this challenge. Of course, I’m trying to find a GUY at the end of this. Irony, its whats for dinner.

Oh well, the (delicious and cocktail filled) search continues! Letter “U” was easily fulfilled last night by Upper Crust Pizza! The weather has taken a turn for the cool here in Boston, so when my friend Beany proposed pizza and a glass of wine at Upper Crust after work; I was all in!

Upper Crust is a local pizza chain specializing in fun and gourmet toppings. What I like most about them is that they’ll put any pizza on whole wheat dough – score! Or make any pizza “white” (no red sauce) – double score!

I walked to the location in my neighborhood to meet Bean. The restaurant itself is pretty casual inside; you serve yourself water, plates and silverware; buts its cozy still.

(pizza plates as ceiling decor)

Their small was large and their large was giant. Trippy.

What’s also nice about Upper Crust is that although its super casual, they do serve beer and wine.

Beany and I went for a bottle of the Gabbiano Chianti.

Chillaxin’ on a Wednesday.

Casual table set up (that’s Beany’s water bottle from home)

After debating the merits of MANY pizza flavors we chose the White Spinach on Whole Wheat Dough.  White pizza topped with fresh spinach, mozzarella, feta cheese and fresh garlic. Done and done.

We waited about 30 minutes for our pie; I think there may have been a kitchen mix-up; but no worries; Beany and I were catching up over Chianti so its all good.

Mmmm I love White Pizza; I’m way more into cheese than I am into sauce.

Expert cheese pull. (Can you believe this was the small size?!)

The dishes are done, man. We did some damage on this pie for sure. Although I loved the flavor combination, something was “missing” for me on this pizza.  Not sure if it was the flavorings or crust consistency, but I doctored up my slices with hot sauce and Parmesan; and there was still that  missing something, weird, I know. I typically feel this way about Upper Crust; I really want to LOVE them; but I really only LIKE them.

Regardless of my elusive missing flavor, Beany and I ate most of the pizza and drank all of our wine while chatting. It was a fun Wednesday and a great WWC! Only G & Y left!!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Lizzy says:

    You did it again!!! “Dishes are done man” When are we going to have a “working lunch” and watch that movie in my office??? I’m kinda obsessed with white pizza lately. Love it!! I’ll be your wingman- lets go out and I will help introduce you to the perfect G-U-Y.

    1. God, how about tomorrow? I need more “Don’t Tell Mom the Babysitter’s Dead” in my life!! YES, I’ll let you be my wingman!

  2. kim says:

    Is “G” going to be Gargoyles on the Square in Davis?
    http://www.gargoylesrestaurant.com/

    1. Ha! Could be…..although I’m pretty lazy about crossing the river 🙂

  3. Jen says:

    Not everyone can rock a “Frankie Says Relax” t-shirt at a pizza parlor.

Leave a Reply

