Love This Tender

Elvis Banana Bread
(Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Bread)
Based on this recipe

Ingredients
2 cups Whole Wheat Pastry Flour (or AP Flour)
3/4 tsp baking soda
Dash salt
Dash Cinnamon
1/2 c. Brown Sugar (I used dark)
1/4 c. Butter (1/2 stick) Softened
2 Eggs
3 Bananas (Mashed)
1 tsp Vanilla
2 tbs Low Fat Milk (optional)
1/4c. Peanut Butter
3 tsp Nutella or Melted Chocolate Chips
3 tablespoons chopped chocolate or chocolate chips(optional)
Cooking Spray

Preheat oven to 350°


In a medium bowl; combine flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.
Set aside.


In a large mixing bowl; cream together butter and sugar until pale. Add eggs, one at a time; beat until combined (you can use your electric mixer or your own brute strength). Add in  mashed banana, mix thoroughly.  Add flour mixture to wet mixture and mix until combined. If the batter is too sticky, add milk.

Here’s where it gets cray cray:


Add Nutella or melted chocolate.


Add Peanut Butter as well.


Gently fold in Nutella and Peanut Butter (chunks and swirls encouraged).

Add chopped chocolate or chocolate chips (I used the last bit of this bar from the weekend).


Pour this magic concoction into a lightly sprayed loaf pan.
Bake for 45 minutes (to an hour) until toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes; and pop out of loaf pan.


Slice and devour.
If you were to say….toast a slice, spread it with a tiny bit of butter, layer in a couple of slices of crispy bacon and a small slice of Munster cheese so it’s all melty, savory, gooey and delicious,  I think the King would be mighty proud. Uh huh.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Lizzy says:

    I’ve been eating similar things everyday for breakfast- mashed bananas are the best : )

    1. If there is PB and Bananas – I’m IN.

  2. Jen says:

    GOD SO GOOD. Three things:
    1) I can’t believe when you were like “candy bar left over from the weekend”…I would definitely NOT have had leftovers of that beauty. I am a sucker for Crunchie.
    2) Ever had a grilled cheese with Bacon, Bananas and Peanut Butter plus cheese – CRAZY AMAZEY.
    3) Sad that I didn’t get any left-overs of that bread. wah.

  3. 1) Trust me, it was a wee piece and even I knew that I shouldn’t eat a 1lb bar of chocolate by myself in 3 days.
    2) NO, and I want to. Why you hold out on me? Whhhhy?
    3) Honestly, I overbaked it a wee bit; so it wasn’t really for friend-consumption.

Leave a Reply

