From Salad’s Kitchen: Powerhouse Cookies

Hi friends,

I was in the mood to do some baking last night and I came up with this nutrient and flavor packed cookie recipe.  Dare I say,  a HEALTHY cookie? I’m excited, and I know you are too.

The recipe is VERY loosely based on this one with almost 100% adjustments 🙂  May I present to you….

Blueberry, Ginger, Almond & Coconut Oaties or simply….

POWERHOUSE COOKIES

These cookies are packed with fiber, vitamins and axtioxidants.They are lower in sugar than regular cookies but are still delicious.  They are a powerhouse of nutrients. They are perfect crumbled into a yogurt or eaten straight up. Enjoy.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 c butter (1 stick), softened
  • 1/3 c coconut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 large egg (or egg substitute)*
  • 2 c WW pastry flour
  • 1/3 c oatmeal
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp fresh grated ginger (grate with a zester or cheese grater)
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 5oz dried blueberries
  • 2oz almonds, chopped

See notes on ingredients below

Preheat oven to 350. In a large bowl, cream together the butter, sugar, coconut butter and vanilla until there are no lumps (I don’t get out the mixer, just make sure your butter is soft, and put your back into stirring with a fork). Add egg, and beat in until smooth. In a separate medium bowl, mix together WW pastry flour, oatmeal, baking soda, salt, fresh ginger (it makes all the difference) and cinnamon to combine thoroughly. Add flour mixture to wet ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon until dough comes together (and pulls from the sides of the bowl).  Gently stir in blueberries and almonds into the dough. Drop by tablespoons on a parchment-lined cookie sheet (or a silpat). Bake for 8-10 minutes. These can be crumbly so don’t overbake. Makes 3 dozen.

Be sure to try a little (or alot) of the dough…yummy

Salad’s Notes:

  • I used pasteurized egg whites from a carton  so there were no bacteria issues. I also liked using carton eggs  here because I wanted to undercook these a little bit so they weren’t too crisp
  • I almost NEVER put the full amount of sugar in a recipe; I find most baked goods are over-sweetened, especially if you’re adding fun mix-ins. The original recipe here called for 1.5 cups of sugar, I only used 1/2 and they are perfectly sweet!
  • Don’t skimp on fat! I just was reading this in Cooking Light. They recommend reducing fat (rather than using a substitute) for superior flavor and texture. I agree!
  • Whole Wheat pastry flour can be found at  Whole Foods. Its more delicate than regular Whole Wheat  flour; your baked goods won’t be so “heavy” tasting.
  • You could substitute another nut butter for the coconut butter; but it may alter the taste. Or you could add a bit more regular butter.
  • Instead of ginger, blueberries and almonds, you could substitute cocoa powder, dried cherries and dark chocolate chips for an equally powerful mix!

Your Kind of Salad (YKOS) 2010

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Cutie Patooty says:

    I do envy your knack for whipping up cookies like its nothin. Eating them out of the freezer is normal. For you.

    1. PEOPLE LIKE THINGS OUT OF THE FREEZER. Frozen grapes, frozen bananas, why not frozen cookies? As En Vogue once said ” Free your mind and the rest will follow….” Yes, I’m quoting a 90s all-girl R&B group. That’s what cool kids do.

  2. Jen says:

    I wish I had me some of these cookies right now – hot or cold. – Katy Perry

    1. And then I brush my teeth with a bottle of jack. K$sha.

Leave a Reply

