In the Cart

Friends!

It has been a DECADENT week. Since Bestie’s wedding last weekend, I’ve had a gorgeous, relaxing week of not cooking, eating out every meal and enjoying delicious cocktails. But alas my body has been feeling the indulgences and I’m happy to be back cooking more at home this week!

I thought you all might want to see my groceries for the week. My fridge was bare except for an eggplant and a Larabar, so I needed everything!

During my week of decadence, I especially enjoyed the fruits de la mer! If it swam in the ocean, crawled on its floor, or washed up on its shore; I ate it this past week.  Typically, when grocery shopping,  I would buy shrimp or salmon, but not wanting to pull a Piven; I skipped all things with gills.

Salad’s Groceries

From Left to Right:

  • 1/2 gal low fat frozen yogurt (Cookies n Cream) a necessity, clearly
  • 1/4 lb deli chicken breast (cut in one thick  slice – more on that later)
  • 1/4 lb thin-sliced deli swiss cheese
  • 1 small bottle of whole milk (for coffee; I’m trying to kick my cream-in-my-coffee habit)
  • 1 package of  green onions
  • 1 seedless cucumber
  • 1 lb of red grapes
  • 1 package of Athenos Feta
  • 1/2 pint of raspberries
  • 1 container of Tribe Kalamata Olive Hummus
  • 1 container of Santa Barbara salsa (love!)
  • 1 doz organic, cage-free eggs
  • 1 package arugula
  • 1 container of 1% Friendship Cottage Cheese – THE BEST

From Left to Right:

  • 1 package white button mushrooms
  • 1 small head of red cabbage
  • 1 bag of 4 broccoli crowns
  • 1 package of Fresh Baby Spinach
  • 1 package Wilson’s Turkey Pepperoni
  • 2 bananas

From Left to Right

  • 1 mini seedless watermelon (perfect for my apartment fridge!)
  • 1 package whole wheat melba toast
  • 1 package of dark brown sugar (for baking)
  • 1 jar of Teddie’s all natural smooth peanut butter (my favorite)
  • 1 jar of sliced lemongrass (an awesome find in the Asian foods aisle!)
  • 1 jar of Bonne Maman apricot jam (my favorite!)
  • 1 container from the olive bar (mixed French, Italian, Greek olives)
  • 1 package of La Tortilla Factory soft tortilla (THE BEST)
  • 1 package of Knorr Spring Vegetable dip mix
  • 1 jar of Thai Kitchen green curry paste
  • 1 jar of capers
  • 1 lemon, 1 lime

All of this came to approximately $85; quite a bargain, I think. I have some great recipes planned this week with the above groceries so stay tuned!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Salad:
    1) What market is this?
    2) Are those tortilla’s whole wheat?
    3) What do you use the veggie soup mix for?

    1. Salad:
      1) What market is this? Stop n Shop in the ‘burb
      2) Are those tortilla’s whole wheat? YES, and low-carb and AMAZING (only 50 cals each!)
      3) What do you use the veggie soup mix for? (usually as a dip mix for greek yogurt dips or an addition to baking chicken or fish. Spring Vegetable is my favorite flavor!)

  2. Cutie Patooty says:

    Please do my grocery shopping for me. Please. You are so organized. And yet-the combination of items you made with this bounty-not appetizing to me. I think I definitely have become your TROLL!

    1. Seriously. If I had more than 2 readers; I’d hope that someone would come to my defense and love my weird-ass food combinations; but since its you, Mom and my friend Bean reading; looks like I’m out here twisting in the strange-food-combination wind.

Leave a Reply

