Book Club Pizzaout

As you know, I belong to a kick-a$$ book club. These girls are smart, sassy and helluva good cooks. Really, all I look for in friends.

Last week’s book club was held at Club Founder Angie’s house. Angie (or Miss Angie if you’re nasty) had gotten in late the night before from a family trip to DC. Although, she, her cute baby and darling husband looked no worse for the wear, girlfriend wasn’t about to be banging pots and pans after getting in from Dulles  at 4am. No argument here. She did what any hostess would do; she ordered pizza. Done & done.

I had been having a major pizza craving  so I was delighted when I showed up to see those beautiful white boxes awaiting us.  Angie and her husband (and other friends in the neighborhood) have been raving about their local Italian place, Denly’s, so I was excited to see what the hype was about. This joint is a well-kept secret in the suburbs of Boston and I know why. Oh my, Denly’s pizza did not disappoint.

But first, Angie (and her adorable tot) settled us in comfy lawn chairs in their beautiful backyard.  It was a breezy night; perfect for dining outside. There was wine and beer (of course); but I stuck to water. Once we all had a drink or a baby in hand (several of our girls are mamas or mamas to be!); we got to the business of eating.

We had some baked tortilla chips and this heavenly salsa:

Book clubber and bride-to-be Pony modeling the chips & salsa.

We also had a beautiful brie, grape and cracker tray from our friend Nandrea which I forgot to snap a pic of! Just know it was lovely :)And our friend Kim brought the quintessential girlfriends snack food: A bag of Chex Mix and a bag of peanut M&Ms. Really, is there anything better?

But then, it was on to the main event!

I mean, seriously? Look at that deliciousness

Angie ordered three flavors of pizza; but somehow the other two pies escaped my camera’s eye, but were equally delicious:

  • Basil, Tomato & Mozzarella (pictured)
  • Prosciutto & Basil
  • Eggplant

The base crust was thin and crispy (which I prefer) and the edges were doughy and crunchy without being hard. Yum! I had a slice of each flavor but I think the prosciutto was my favorite. So salty and crispy. Scrumptious. I can see why Denly’s  is a hidden gem.

No book club is complete without dessert. Period.

Pony had brought strawberries, pound cake and a vanilla cream for dipping. A deconstructed shortcake that was so summery!

And, in a nod to the backyard cookout (pizzout), I made S’mores bars adapted from this recipe.

Hello you….

I think people liked them and they certainly fit the vibe of a backyard dinner!

The ingredient list is so simple, but if I were to make this again, I would make the following tweaks:

  1. Reduce the butter to 1 cup
  2. Increase chocolate to 8 bars to ensure an even covering
  3. Pre-bake the crust for a few minutes (mine basically fell apart when eating

Angie and family were wonderful hosts and it was great to catch up with the girls about bosses, babies (present and on the way!) and boys – oh yeah and books! Can’t forget that at book club….

Question for you: Favorite summertime treat to bring to a cookout (or pizzaout)?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Lizzy says:

    Good question- I think my bean and corn salad- so easy and delicious! That or veggie burgers just in case they only have hot dogs and hamburgers. I spurge on home-made hamburgers but not that frozen crap! Your book club sounds fun! What are you reading?

    1. We just read “A Girl Named Zippy” – a cute read!

  2. Cutie Patooty says:

    Hmmm. I like to bring taboulee and crisp small butter lettuce leaves for dipping and scooping. Perfect summer side dish.

    1. I like when you bring that places too. Not that we attend the same social events constantly or anything.

  3. Jen says:

    Please bring more of those smores to any event I’m attending since I ate 5 in one sitting and STILL wanted more…DELICIOUS!

    1. I know! I seriously am making those again!

Leave a Reply

