Weekend In Pictures

Hi friends,

I had a GREAT weekend, filled with friends, movies and yummy food! Enjoy a recap of my weekend in pictures

Friday lunch, giant salad from Kebab House:

In the mix: Chicken, Chick Peas, Avocado, Vegetable, Hummus dressing and Garlic Gold. Delicious!

Friday night, I went to the gym, where I did a quick 35 minutes on the Torture Device along with a round of squats & lunges. A short but efficient workout. I then cleaned up and headed to my friend Pony’s house for a movie night. We rented Valentine’s Day; a little cheesy, but perfect for a rainy Friday night.

Of course there were snacks-as-dinner

The spread (I had a little bit of everything here, plus a glass of Prosecco!)

  • Cheese & Multigrain crackers
  • Sabra Hummus
  • Helluva Good Dip
  • Cut Carrots, Cukes, Red Pepper
  • Brown Rice Chips
  • Shrimp Cocktail with spicy cocktail sauce
  • Unpictured Watermelon Roll (tee hee)
  • Wine and Prosecco

Saturday, I got into the gym early and did a solid 3.05 miles of intervals (walk/jog) in 36 minutes. I followed that with 3 sets of bi, tri and back lifts using the medicine ball and free weights. I wanted to finish my workout early, so I could head to my friend Bean’s parent’s pool to lounge for the afternoon!

Pool snacks: Riceworks Brown Rice Chips, Homemade Guacamole, Fruit, Corn & Black Bean Salsa and Wine Spritzers

I had made the guacamole, my recipe is pretty simple:

Homemade Guacamole:

  • 2 avocados
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, diced (instead of tomato, of course)
  • 1/4 red onion, diced
  • Lime juice, Black pepper, Salt, Garlic powder to taste

Smash it all together with a fork, and you’re done.

Wine Spritzers were equally easy (and refreshing on a hot day)

  • Riesling (this is a crisp white which is perfect in the heat)
  • Grapefruit Seltzer Water
  • ice

Fill glass with ice;  fill 1/2 way with wine, fill the rest of the way with soda. A wedge of citrus would be perfect here.

More snacks: Summer fruits

Abnormally large blueberry (cherry in picture for scale)

It was Beany’s birthday, so her family bought her this beautiful cake from Pastiche. Passion Coconut Cake: Coconut sponge layers filled with passion mousse. Finished with a passion buttercream

I had a small slice, and yes, it was as heavenly as it sounds!

Unfortunately, the skies opened up and rain came pouring down while we were feasting on cake; so pool time was cut short.  We decided to go shopping in Bean’s hometown.

Beef Barn anyone? (This shot was purely for comedic value, no beef was hurt in the taking of this picture).

As we were driving around Saturday afternoon, inspiration struck; we would go to a movie, not just any movie; but a DRIVE IN! The rain had stopped by then, and there was a drive-in, right near where we were shopping. Done and done.  The drive-in was such a trip it needs its own post; so stay tuned for that post tomorrow. Just know that it was awesome!

Sunday was another beautiful day. After lounging around a bit and eating two unremarkable snacks (cheese & crackers and yogurt with some oatmeal sprinkled in); I headed to the gym to get in some running time.  I did 6.30 miles in about 70 minutes. This is the longest distance I’ve done in several months, so I was pretty proud of myself, it felt great! This also capped me out at 13 miles for the week. Not too shabby for a girl whose sneakers were abandoned in June.

After pulling myself together Sunday afternoon,  I headed to my parent’s house for dinner.  We decided to go out for dinner at a local favorite: The Inn at Bay Pointe. I’m sorry for not taking more ambiance pictures; the restaurant sits on dock in the marina and the view of the ocean is so beautiful! Next time!

What I did take pictures of was my delicious dinner.

I ordered a seltzer water to drink and ordered mussels to share with the table.

Bulging Mussels (Get it “Bulging Muscles” Oh shellfish humor…)
Fresh mussels sautéed with fresh garlic and basil, tossed with marinara or while basilico sauce.

We chose the white basilico sauce; which was wine-y, buttery goodness.  I had about 4 or 5 mussels, but  skipped the dipping of the bread into the broth, although I was tempted to just drink the broth like a shot, weird?

I then got a small house salad (this pic was taken about halfway through), with Parmesan dressing on the side. I use about 1 tbs or so.

For my dinner, I ordered a scallop special:

Scallop Special
Fresh sautéed Atlantic sea scallops combined with snap peas, tomatoes, mushrooms, in a light tomato cream sauce served over penne. I politely asked for broccoli instead of pennne; which they kindly obliged.  I got through half of this portion (with eating most of the broccoli, it was so good soaked in the sauce!) Because I had my eye on the dessert menu, I didn’t want to fill up on white flour pasta.  However, these beauties were absolutely worth it.

Lemon Berry Mascarpone Cake: Cream cake topped with blueberries, cranberries, and vanilla crumb. Cake is filled with lemon cream and finished with vanilla cake crumb on the sides and a dusting of sugar. Tropical Coconut Creme Cake: Three layers of moist yellow cake shaped as a dome, filled with coconut custard and finished with sweet white icing and coconut flakes.

Oh my, oh my. We shared these two dessert and all I can say is whoa. The lemon berry cake was light, refreshing and tasted like summer with the fresh berries and candied lemon. But the coconut cake (surprise surprise) was my true love. creamy, moist and oh so coconutty, I wanted to curl up with it and call it Mama. No offense, mom. It was sublime. I had a bite or two of the lemon berry cake and SEVERAL bites of coconut cake. Both pieces were so large, we ended up taking half of each home (and finishing them later with tea. Wait, who said that?).

It was a beautiful balance this weekend of healthy habits and indulgences, just the way I like it!

Lots more Salad to come this week, stay tuned!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    I’m feeling nostalgic for the Beef Barn. I only wish we could have gone in…next time…

    1. Yeah, yeah, next time…

Leave a Reply

