And that was Tuesday

Hello darling friends,

How are you? Its a dreary day here in Boston (and actually less than 90 degrees, whoo hoo!) Because the weather has calmed down slightly; I’ve actually ventured into my kitchen to cook more than ice.  So settle in with some salad; because I actually have a full day’s worth of food to share with you AND a WWC, I know, I’m excited too.

Let’s get started.

I’ve been enjoying the following breakfast sandwich the last few mornings and yesterday was no exception:

Flash

No flash (love my photography tutorials?)

In that beauty:

  • Mini Whole Wheat Pita
  • Homemade Egg, Raw Goat Cheese & Leek Frittata
  • Mixed Greens
  • 1/2 piece smoked salmon
  • S+P

If you’re a longtime (ha) reader you love that I love my eggs; and I think frittatas are so easy to make on Sunday nights to have for the week. This one was particularly easy; as I used one pan and never turned on my oven!

Ridiculously Easy Egg, Cheese & Leek Frittata

  • Cooking spray
  • 6 whole eggs
  • 1 lb leeks (cleaned thoroughly, and chopped into 1 inch pieces; just the white and light green parts)
  • 2oz Raw Goat cheese (or cheese of your choice), chopped into small pieces or grated
  • Herbs (I used finely chopped fresh basil (Bazil) & Rosemary)
  • Freshly ground salt & pepper (I think this always make a big difference!)

Directions:

Set a saute pan over medium heat, spray liberally with cooking spray. Add leeks and a shake of salt & pepper. Let the leeks cook down until they’re braised, soft and looking caramelized.  In a separate bowl; mix cracked eggs with herbs and more pepper and salt. You could add a dash of milk or cream here; but alas, I was out. Beat well. Re-spray your saute pan thoroughly with cooking spray (right over the leeks) – you don’t want your eggs to stick! Once eggs are thoroughly beaten and looking foamy; pour egg mixture directly into saute pan over braised leeks.  Add your cheese (and another grate of pepper) on top of this (do not stir!). Cover and let cook for 25-30 minutes. Frittata is done when the eggs look cooked and they don’t wiggle when you shake the pan.  Fini! Makes 4 pieces.

Notes: A turned over plate works well for a lid if your saute pan doesn’t have one :). You could also let this cook uncovered in the saute pan until set-up, about 10 minutes; then finish baking in the oven (yes, still in the saute pan; just be careful of that handle when taking it out!).

Moving onto lunch!

I’ve been loving this summer salad; so easy (sensing a theme?) and fresh:

  • Mixed greens, Sun-dried tomatoes, Asparagus (lightly steamed), Cucumbers
  • 1oz goat cheese, 2 tbs lemon hummus
  • 1 serving of lite tofu drizzled with balsamic vinegar and olive oil
  • Garlic Gold, S+P for seasoning.

I love balsamic vinegar; its soooo good with goat cheese!

Snack time was a product I’ve seen quite a bit out in blogland and was excited to try:

Now, I’ve been to Iceland and love all things Icelandic; but I’m sorry Siggi’s; I just found you to be TOO tangy. I also tried the Pomegranate and Passionfruit flavor; and the same thing; the fruit flavor was there; but really overpowered by the tang of the yogurt. The consistency was great; VERY thick; really more like sour cream than yogurt, and the nutritionals are pretty awesome as well.

But I couldn’t get through a 6-oz container in one sitting if that tells you how sour I found the flavor to be.

For a snack yesterday, I had 1/2 a container with blueberries and some WF Honey Crunch & Oats cereal; and it was ok; but I won’t be buying Siggi’s again (plus, it was on the expensive side; $2.50 per container at my local WF). Pretty disappointing; but I’ll take a Fage or a Chobani Greek yogurt any day!

But enough about sour yogurt and onto the Tuesday night WWC! What is a WWC you ask? A its a Work Week Cocktail! Check out here for more info!

This week’s WWC was at one of my FAVORITE joints in the city: Kingston Station!

My good friend Bean and I have been frequenting Kingston Station since last year; and think of it our home away from home (considering one of the waiters greets us by name; I would say we’re not too far off :)) I hosted one of my birthday events here last year and I think (bold statement coming) that they have the BEST dirty martini in the city. There, I said it. Basically, Kingston Station is just a great neighborhood place for a drink or dinner and its ALWAYS good.

On to the pics!

Exteriors

Step right up…

Interiors

I love the subway tiled walls!

Place set-up

Monthly Cocktail Menu

For cocktails, Bean ordered the scrumptious Partly Cloudy: Brugal Anejo rum, ginger beer, & fresh ginger and I ordered my usual glass of Champagne; are you sick of seeing that yet? I’m not sick of drinking it yet…. (Bean would like it noted that she usually orders the Grapefruit Press, a mix of grapefruit juice, vodka and cranberry and its delightful!)

For dinner, I kept is simple with the Mussels
Mussels: Fragrant dry vermouth, white wine, broth, diced tomato, shallot, garlic and herbs

The mussels were briney and not too chewy; but let’s face it; the best part about ordering mussels is dipping hunks of fresh bread into the broth. Which I did….alot….with the bread in the picture….and more bread from the basket. Dip, dip dip.

I also had some sauteed spinach; gotta get my greens in, yo.

Bean went for the Seared Tuna Nicoise Salad
Seared Tuna Nicoise Salad: Herb crusted Ahi tuna, olives, green beans, sliced egg, tomato, marinated potato and sherry vinaigrette

She obviously hated it.

All in all, another successful night at Kingston Station. Good food, good drinks and fun friends – a VERY successful WWC!

Check you later!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    I must disagree with them having the best dirty martini in the city – and I mean no disrespect to the beloved Kingston Station – but I’ve never found one that can compare to VOX…the blue cheese olives can’t be stopped (nor can I stop drinking the martini’s there once I start – eeks)

    1. Precisely, I think your love of the Vox martini, may purely be circumstantial; ie you’re drunk.

Leave a Reply

