A Tale of Two Breakfasts

Good morning friends,

As I mentioned yesterday, it’s just too ridiculously hot here in Boston for me to think about making meals (such a slacker, I know) – so I’ve been picking up breakfast on my way to work the last couple of mornings. So unlike me. Normally, I”m carrying a grocery bag to work every day with breakfast, lunch and snacks for the day. Hey, blame it on the humidity.

Yesterday, I stopped at  Boloco for breakfast. You’ve heard me wax poetic about Boloco before; the fresh food, the commitment to the environment and the delicious smoothies. Breakfast at Boloco did not disappoint. I had a small Huevos Rancheros in a bowl (rather than a flour tortilla).

Scrambled eggs, black beans, tomato salsa, & melted cheese

This was the small serving; which was pretty big. I managed about 2/3 of it. Also, there didn’t seem to be any cheese in there; which was fine with me. I also had one of their mini Smoothies – how adorable is this?

Soy Berry Shake:  strawberries, blueberries, banana, soymilk, honey

All together now….

This breakfast came to roughly $6 and about 400 calories; not too shabby. I love having more protein-based breakfasts as they keep me fuller longer and don’t have me cravings sweets all morning.

Moving on to today’s breakfast; I stopped at Dunkin’ Donuts.

  • Medium Iced Coffee with cream & 1 Splenda
  • Egg White Turkey Sausage Flatbread
  • 1 Kiwi from home 🙂

The flatbreads have too much bread for me; so took off one half:

Much better.

This breakfast also came to about $6 and 400 calories. Another breakfast winner. I liked that the egg whites tasted like real food; not too artificial. And I do love me some iced coffee.

So there you have; two “fast food” breakfast options that won’t break your caloric bank. Fun, right?

See you all later for lunch!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Boloco is my boyfriend.

    1. Nuh uh, he’s mine.

Leave a Reply

