Paris, Vegas

Hi darlings,

To continue on with my Las Vegas recap; I’ll actually get into some food that we enjoyed. Since we were in Vegas for my Dad’s work convention, our dinners were spent as part of the trade show. Our lunches were non-existent; we were too busy running around. Lunches for me consisted of fruit,  Larabars and 1/2 vegetable sandwiches my Dad snagged me from his conference. (Thanks Dad!). Breakfast was really where we enjoyed some of the Vegas food scene; and ironically my two favorite breakfasts were French inspired – I ain’t mad at that!

A favorite Vegas restaurant of mine is Mon Ami Gabi atThe Paris hotel. It’s easy to get to; has a beautiful patio/view of the Strip and I think the food is excellent (and affordable).

That menu pic look familiar?

My mother, sister and I shared this beautiful fruit plate to start. That would be (clockwise):

  • Fruit Flower: Cantaloupe, Raspberries, Blackberries, Blueberries, Fresh Mint
  • Minted simple syrup
  • Brown Sugar
  • Creme Fraiche

It was so refreshing!

For my meal I ordered a Chicken, Brie and Apple Crepe; it was absolutely perfect. The chicken was roasted and shredded and there were smooth hunks of brie mixed in with the crispy apple. Yum! I avoided some of the cheese sauce on top; but what I had of it; was delicious.

Our cuisine de paris continued the next day with breakfast at Bouchon at the Venetian Hotel. I’ve always been a fan of  Mr. Keller’s macarons from Bouchon Bakery; and Bouchon Restaurant did not disappoint.

Interior

Patio view

After perusing the menu, my sister and I ordered this beauty to share:

Croque Madame: Toasted ham and cheese on brioche  with a fried egg & mornay sauce, served with French fries

Hello, lovely. This was rich, salty, crunchy (from the toasted bread) and deliciously soaked in mornay sauce. Divine.  We both couldn’t manage more than half of our halves; that’s how rich it was!

We opted out of French fries and got a side of blurry mixed greens instead.

Crispy.

My mother ordered the following deliciousness:

Les Oeufs: 2 eggs any style (poached), toast, bacon and potato croquettes

How darling is this potato croquette? I snagged a half from my mom. Now normally I don’t really love the potato; but this was cheesy, creamy, herby and crispy all at once. Yum!

But what really made breakfast was this basket of treasures:

Assorted Bouchon Pastries: Pain au Chocolat, Strawberry Croissant, Cream Puff and an Almond Pastry

Close up of the strawberry croissant; which was a 1/2 croissant slathered in strawberry preserves topped with a crumb topping and toasted. Oh. my. word.

Cream Puff

Cream Puff Half; hello you beautiful buttery layers

The Pain au Chocolat basically had a layer of fudge in the middle.  Kind of wild.

My favorite, by bar, was the strawberry croissant. Delicious! I enjoyed about 1/4 of each with STRONG Bouchon coffee; my idea of heaven!

Ok kiddos, I might bore you with ONE more Vegas recap later on; are you up for it??

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Cutie Patooty says:

    I wish I had a croque madam right now.

  2. Lizzy says:

    I want all that food right now. I’m starrving. Poach me Salad!

  3. Jen says:

    MACAROONS………………………….gahsldkglaskdjfdallasishellalskdfhalskdfjalskdjfals

Leave a Reply

