The Return of the Cereal

Hello darlings,

Boston is HOT today. In the 90s and humid. Ick. This Salad took the T to work (the subway for all you non-Bostonians) for the first time in months.  Normally I walk the 1.3 miles to work (and home again); but I didn’t want to arrive at work as the “Melted Thing Formally Known as Salad”.  The T was nicely air-conditioned and noone touched me inappropriately. A win-win on any public transport system.

Because its so humid out, coffee with milk just didn’t sound appealing today; so I rolled with an Unsweet Iced Tea (with a lemon!) from Dunkin’ Donuts .  Very refreshing. I also couldn’t decide what I wanted for breakfast. Normally, I have eggs or yogurt or in some rare cases, oatmeal. By the way, my brief, torrid love affair with oatmeal is O-V-E-R.  I don’t know if its the heat or what, but Oatmeal, I’m just not that into you.  I hope we can still be friends.  None of my normal breakfasts sounded good this morning.  What did sound good was cold cereal. Random, right? I was at the drugstore this am, there it was staring at me like a beacon. I don’t normally buy cereal and I certainly don’t buy cereal from the drugstore, but here we are.  I avoid cold cereal because it never fills me up, is usually super caloric or tastes like air puffs.  But somehow this one worked today.

The ingredient list wasn’t too awful (no high fructose corn syrup at least).

And the nutritionals were 130 calories for 3/4 cup. Not too shabby.

I made it with work with skim milk and blueberries from home.  It was all pretty delicious and very refreshing. Hit the spot!  Breakfast surprisingly kept me full for a few hours (I had 2 servings of cereal, 1/2 cup of blueberries with 1/2 cup fat-free milk).

I just started to feel hungry, so I’m snacking on this little beaut since its still a tad too early to bust into my lunch.

I love you, Clif products.

See you all later for lunch and fun road race plans!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Salad – I love cereal…and not just the fun ones like Fruity Pebbles and Count Chocula – the ones that my parents would actually let me eat too. Have you ever tried “Shredded Spoonfuls”? Well let me tell you they need to change the name to “Shredded Spoonfuls OF HEAVEN” because it is delcious, and nutritious. Try it the next time your tummy wants to crunch-out.

    1. I see another Inane Interview in your future.

Leave a Reply

