WWC and other Tuesday Adventures

Salad friends, hello!

Just tuning into the fun? Catch up on my three event birthday extravaganzas (yes, I said three).

Now, that the birthday fun is over,  things have been pretty quiet this week.  Naturally, a perfect opportunity for a WWC. WTF is a WWC you ask? Well, that would be a Work Week Cocktail. When you and your pals go out for something fun,  alcoholic and delicious during the work week, that’s a WWC.  I’m categorizing all of these drinks (and bar recaps) under “Salad & Spirits 2010” – check it out.

Before WWC-ing on Tuesday, I had most of the day to get through.  I started the day with a 5.5 mile loop around the river.  It was just a beautiful morning and my thoughts were wandering so I just rolled with it, and did some running and mostly walking. Still counts, right?

Back home, I put together a breakfast you don’t see very often on YKOS: Oatmeal! If you’ve been around the blogck (soooo punny), you know that many bloggers have a serious “Affair to Remember” kind of love with oatmeal. For me, its more of a “Before Sunrise” kind of relationship. I love it for a short while, and then I’m on a train to somewhere else.

Today I was on the oatmeal train.

.

In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup old fashioned oats
  • 2/3 cup of water
  • 1/2 banana
  • Toppings: (1 tbs each): dried blueberries, dried cranberries, raisins & reduced fat coconut)

I was missing a little sumthin’ sumthin’ – so I added a tbs of Almond Butter too. Much better.  I cook my oats in the microwave (gasp!) and didn’t use milk (gasp again!) – but I thought they were great. If you’re into oatmeal, and want to see delicious combinations and toppings, please see  Kath Eats, I think her blog has some of the best oatmeal pics! (and lots of other delicious things).

I digress….back to my day. On my way to work, I stopped by Mike & Patty’s for a coffee.

This little sandwich shop gem is tucked away in Bay Village; but totally worth finding.  Their breakfast sandwiches are DIVINE; but today, I simply grabbed a (locally roasted) coffee and kept going. So good.

For the rest of the morning, I did the workin’ thing ( you know) and then had lunch. *Salad Disclaimer: my lunch yesterday was unattractive and unsatisfying, therefore I bring you a delicious picture of TODAY’s lunch (hey, its my blog and I’m switch meals if I want to)*

This was a MONSTER salad from Kebab House. You pick the proteins, veggies and extras you want and they toss it all together with the dressing of your choice. Their salads are huge (TWSS?) and so scrumptious. Before I devoured most of it, this beaut was 5x its size and contained: mesclun greens, chick peas, avocado, red cabbage, peppers, carrots, artichokes, a grapeleaf, scallions, golden raisins and HUMMUS for salad dressing.  Yes, they consider hummus a salad dressing, reason number 2087932 I love it there.  They also give you a big, beautiful piece of warm whole wheat syrian bread. I know, I know, its amazing.

After doing some more workin’ stuff; it was WWC time!

My pal, Bean and I decided to try the Woodward at the Ames Hotel. The Ames is part of the Morgans Hotel Group; the folks who own the Mondrian and Delano properties. If you’ve stayed in either locale, you get the drift of the design; clean lines, funky accents.

Exterior and outdoor seating area.

Interior, view from the second floor mezzanine

Interior, ladies’ room 🙂

Bean and settled ourselves at the downstairs bar (there is also an upstairs bar that had a bit more loungy feel to it) and settled into the drink menu.

I decided on Boston Mule: Absolut Boston with Fentimans ginger beer and spearmint


(sorry, these were camera phone pics!).

This was delicious! Minty and spicy (from the ginger) with just the right amount of sour. Very nice. The waiter informed us that all the fruit, juices and garnishes (fresh ginger!) are prepared daily (and in some cases, hourly) in-house.  VERY nice.

Bean went for the Good Time Margarita: Herradura silver tequila and chamomile infused agave nectar with fresh lime juice

This was also very fresh and and whoooee was it STRONG.  Another plus.

The drinks were a bit pricey ($29 for two cocktails); but really you only needed one.  We didn’t sample any food; but I’d be back to check it out (and their outdoor seating!). A pretty successful WWC if I do say so myself!

All right friends, I’ll be back later!


4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Just writing to say I am still drunk from that Good Time Margarita.

Leave a Reply

