My Birthday is Finally Over or Spoiled Brat: Part III

Hi friends!

I hope you had a beautiful weekend! I got to celebrate my birthday again Saturday night with my nearest and dearest!  I’ll put up a birthday party recap later on today – but just know there were scorecards, alcohol, singing and um, mustaches. Oh yeah, come on back later to check out the fun.

The rest of my weekend was pretty low-key.  Still rolling on my sandwich kick, I enjoyed this beauty for lunch on Saturday (and again for brunch on Sunday; but that was enjoyed at my good friend Nandrea’s house,  hey, great minds think alike).

My take on lox & bagel:

1 mini WW pita with 1tbs Tofutti cream cheese, Wild Alaskan smoked salmon, fresh dill, scallions and capers, all sprinkled with sea salt and black pepper. Cukes on the side. Yum.

Get on in there to see the deliciousness.

Snacks for the weekend looked pretty much like this. Oh yes, hello, little mango friend, our feud is over. Please also  mentally imagine 1000 WF Woven Wheat crackers being eaten as well. Thanks.

I also managed to do some shopping (thanks  Lord and Taylor!!), cleaning, laundry and gym time. Friday night,  I managed a quick  3 mile run (via dreadmill)  and 20 minute interval elliptical while watching “Say Yes to the Dress” – why is that show so magical??  Saturday, I pulled it together for an am Spin class; for the first time in a WHILE. It felt good; I forget how spinning works different muscles than running. I finished up that gym time with a 2.25 mile run.  Good times.

The last hurrah of my birthday was this beautiful Whole Foods vegan cupcake my friend Nurse brought me.  I nibbled on it Sunday while I was re-organizing my life from the weekend. I received some fun “for the blog” birthday presents that  you will be seeing put into action soon, so look out for that. I’m lucky to have such fun and thoughtful friends!

A sweet ending to my birthday weekend (ok, birthday weeks :))
Edited to Add: Hey y’all, check out my guest post over at  Eater Not a Runner. Lauren was kind enough to let me guest post on her site while she was in Europe, check it out!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Lilmurph says:

    I need to try this tofutti cream cheese! I was listening to a podcast earlier (shocking) and they were living la vida coconut oil and water…thoughts?
    Ps challenge: I have been loving my salads, BUT with my crazy mobile job, sometimes I don’t get to eat it! So sad  and so hungry. I need non-fork options that don’t bore me to death AND won’t make a mess of my car!

  2. The tofutti cream cheese is GOOD and lactose free 🙂 I ADORE coconut oil and coconut butter. Coconut oil is known for its good fats and its low heating point (better than olive oil!) A fellow blogger: Heather Eats Almond Butter referenced this great article to explain the benefits of coconut oil!
    http://www.marksdailyapple.com/coconut-oil-health-benefits/

    For non-fork salad options, you need GREEN MONSTERS in your life! Check out this blog to make these. I know you like your smoothies!
    http://greenmonstermovement.com/

    Or you could put all your salad fixings into bibb lettuce or romaine lettuce wraps (or a WW wrap), and eat them individually (and one handed).
    Proud of you for wanting your greens (and listening to podcasts – knowledge is power Lilmurph!

  3. Hey! I just wanted to let you know that I totally loved your guest post on Eater Not A Runner – that salad looks delish and I can’t wait to try it (:

    1. Hi Alycia,
      Thanks so much (and thanks for stopping by)! I kind of LOVE quinoa; check out the “Inane Interviews” – theres an interview on there all about quinoa if that’s your bag!

  4. Jen says:

    Salad – I would like to comment on your liberal use of dill – it’s simply dill-icious! Where do you get your dill? It seems so fresh all the time – do you grow it on your windowsill? Steal it from a neighborhood garden? Or did you buy it in bulk? Please dill-iver the goods with a dilly of a response.

    1. Well, friend, the dill-icious dill I purchase is really from any market I’m patroning! Also, now that the farmer’s market is in full swing; I’m looking forward to getting my herbs there!

Leave a Reply

