A slice of life

Today is a sad day for all of us; Rue McClanahan, passed.  I remember avidly watching The Golden Girls with my mom, and laughing at the jokes; although not really understanding the humor of an older woman’s dating life!  That show was the original “Sex and the City” and promoted strong female characters, friendships and crazy dating stories. Themes that are timeless! In celebration Blanche’s  life, I suggest you get yourself a big slice of cheesecake and gossip with your best girlfriends.

In the meantime, I had this delightful salad for lunch; its a half homemade, half Whole Foods delight:

In the mix:

  • 1 piece of WF salmon
  • 1 serving of sauteed broccoli rabe
  • 1 scoop of roasted sliced fennel
  • sprinkle of cashews & dried cranberries
  • 1 scoop baba ghanoush
  • Vegetable Base (from home): Spinach, Peppers, Carrots

I love you, Whole Foods.

After lunch, I had half of this little beauty. A chocolate truffle bar from Mumm Napa! This is my FAVORITE vineyard in Napa Valley, and when my friend Bean returned from a recent weekend there, she brought me this delight. Much easier to bring home this than a bottle of brut, and dare I say,  just as delicious. Yum.

Ok, dear friends, I’m back to searching for “best cheesecake in Boston” work.  Cheers to you, Blanche!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Cutie Patooty says:

    Thank you for being a friend Rue!

  2. Jen says:

    My favorite part of this post (other than the Blanche Devoroux memorial) was seeing those stunning red fingernails clutching that truffle chocolate bar. I mean, the art direction of using that color on your nails to highlight the red of the logo design on the candy bar wrapper – sheer genius.

    1. Years of creative training.

Leave a Reply

