Wednesday Rewind

Hi friends!

Let me catch you up on Wednesday.

It was really warm yesterday morning; but I managed to hammer out 5.5 miles around the river. Around mile 4, I was like, “why won’t my legs move any faster?” – um, maybe because it was already 80 degrees and humid? My fatigue may have been the beginning of heat stroke, no big deal. I ended up getting a large unsweet iced tea on the way home and gulped down the whole thing; I then refilled my large cup with ice water and downed that before I left for work. Thirsty much?

Between hydrating, I made this breakfast:

  • Egg White Omelette: 2 egg whites, chopped mushrooms, basil, sun dried tomatoes and a side of fresh mozzarella.

Later at work I snacked on half of this:

  • About 1/2 cup of nf greek yogurt, 1/2 cup of fresh pineapple, 1 tbs of peanuts & cinnamon.

Lunchtime was a medley of my Artichoke Feast leftovers:

  • Veg: Spinach, Mushrooms, Sun Dried Tomatoes, Baby Artichokes, Scallions, Basil
  • Fun Stuff: 1 oz Parmesan Cheese, 1/2 Avocado, 3 fresh black olives
  • Deliciousness

Later I snacked on a slice of wheat bread with a smear of peanut butter and coconut butter on my way to my hair appointment.

Gspa (a Gretchen Monahan day spa in Boston) had partnered with Kerastase for their “Our Treat” initiative.

For the second year in a row, women around the country are invited to the Kérastase Our Treat Event on May 26 and June 23 to receive a complimentary Kérastase in-salon hair treatment and blow dry service at participating salons. Kérastase is partnering with Locks of Love, the non-profit organization that provides hairpieces to financially disadvantaged children suffering from medical hair loss from any diagnosis. As Kérastase is committed to giving back to its enthusiasts, this partnership provides women with the opportunity to do the same and support a worth cause. A donation of $10 is suggested to participants following each complimentary treatment and blow dry.

It was awesome! The stylist washed my hair, and gave it a Kerastase deep conditioning treatment and a split-end mending treatment for the ends – and then she blew it out with additional smoothing balms; it was heavenly. For those of you living on the West Coast; you can still participate on June 23 (the East Coast day was yesterday May 26). Check it out!

I took my shiny new hair out for a drink and dinner with my friend, Nurse to CODA. I’m actually hesitant to tell you about this place; as I LOVE IT and really don’t want it to get any more crowded 🙂 Oh well, here goes. Coda is the perfect neighborhood joint; convenient, GREAT drink menu, seasonal menu offerings and a cozy restaurant vibe, I heart Coda big time.

I started the evening with a Vodka Grapefruit Press (sooo refreshing!)

Followed by two pieces of olive bread with house-made hummus while perusing the menu

Choices, choices…..

Nurse and I decided to split the following:

  • Arugula Salad with Bacon, Spring Peas, Croutons

  • Seared Sea Scallops with Collards, Creamy Grits and Fennel Salad

We also shared an Asparagus Soup to start; but I forgot a picture. Wah.  I consoled myself by ordering this

Coda (and the company) was fabulous as always!!

I’m off to seize this Thursday!

What’s your favorite neighborhood joint? What makes it perfect for you?

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Gail says:

    YUM!! Coda looks and sounds fantastic!

    Also, your omelette’s come out so perfectly shaped…can you do a pod omelet lesson??

    1. Coda is AMAZING, I mean its terrible, never, ever go there. Really. Especially on a crowded Friday night.

      Awww, you’re sweet! I’ll be happy to do an omelette thing! I’ll just bring in my portable frying pan 🙂

  2. Liz says:

    that grapefruit press was delicious, can you smuggle out the recipe and make us pitchers and pitchers of it this summer!

    1. SERIOUS. I can’t even remember what was in it? Vodka, Gin? Extra Love? They were SO good.

  3. Jen says:

    CODA!!!!!!! You are our one true love.
    Well – next to Kingston Station.
    And Trader Joe’s.
    AND Franks Red Hot.
    But you are up there CODA, you are up there.

Leave a Reply

