Ruth Chris & Coconut Sorbet

Hi friends!

Today is a beautiful day in Boston; its going to be 90 degrees! Insane!

Yesterday’s eats were on the boring side; so I spared you. You’re welcome.

However, last night was all good fun! I present this week’s WWC!

My friend Bean and I hit up Ruth Chris Steakhouse.  Literally we were walking by the restaurant, and said, “I could go for a drink.”  Done and done.

Ruth Chris is located in the Old City Hall, near the State House in Downtown Boston. The building is a large, comfortable, grey stone building. The bar & lounge area is tucked in the back, away from the formal dining room.

Bean and I decided to sit at the bar, rather than one of little lounge-y table and chairs that were concentrated in the bar lounge.  After a quick perusal of a cocktail menu, I stuck with my steakhouse favorite:  a Dirty Martini. Bean went for a Skinnygirl Margarita. Both were made well, the bartender was on it.

The crowd seemed to lean towards the older gent/touristy demographic. There was some sort of networking event happening in the bar area, and a young woman kept walking up to men in suits asking “Are you are here for the Club?” and more often than not, they weren’t. Is it wrong that I kept laughing at that? In fact, the girl walked up to probably her 10th guy and asked  “Are you a  Club member?”  To which, he responded  “No, I’m Bob.”  Kind of awesome.

After chatting (and mocking others) for a while, the bartender asked us if we wanted food; which we were  hesitant about; but then she mentioned it was still happy hour, score!

The Happy Hour Appetizer menu is below;  each appetizer was $3.50. Not a bad deal.

We opted for the following:

  • Signature Crab Cakes
  • Crab Stuffed Mushrooms
  • Seared Filet on Garlic Toast w/ Bernaise Sauce

Tight on the blurry beef filet

The verdict? Pretty delicious. The crab cakes were good, and the stuffed mushrooms were  heavenly.
The filet was a bit too pink for my liking; but it was a generous slice for $3.50 and was well-seasoned.

After our nibbles and drinks; Bean and I headed out to our respective homes.  The wrap-up on Ruth Chris? If you can get in there for Happy Hour, its a nice stop-off from work; otherwise, I’m not sure I’d go for the ambiance alone.

Once I got home to the Salad Bowl; I was still hungry and ended up having a salad (Spoiler Alert: ‘ll be having the same one for lunch today!) and digging into this new treasure:

Oh my, oh my. Although this was sorbet; it was creamy and rich with flakes of coconut in there; absolutely delicious. I do love me some coconut.I managed to keep it to about a 1/2 portion – it was just enough.

See you all later for lunch!

Edited to add: My friends Harris & Jbird and I took advantage of Boston Restaurant Week and had a delicious lunch at Ruth Chris last Wednesday (8.18.10); check it out!

Since it was a sunny (although cloudy) day; we opted to sit on their patio. This little oasis was neatly tucked into walled patio area.  Since we had found the restaurant ambiance a little stiff; the patio was a nice alternative.

Surrounded on one side by a famed Boston cemetery. Delicious and historical. What more could one ask for in a lunch?

The restaurant week menu looked positively decadent; we were all excited to get into it.

I had the hardest time deciding between Salmon (love), Filet (love), Crab Cakes (love). While I made this tough decision (ha!)  I nibbled a piece of warm bread with softened butter (you know that’s how we do).

After finally settling on a menu; it was time to eat!

I had the Crab & Corn Chowder for a starter. This was just ok. A little too “thickened” tasting for me, and I didn’t see a single crab, but the Old Bay seasoning was a nice kick.

For my meal, I opted for the Filet and Creamed Spinach.

This too was  good.  I ordered the meat medium, and it came out a bit well; but it was still tender and flavorful. This is ironic, as on my last visit, the beef was so rare, it was practically mooing (TMI?). The creamed spinach could have been hotter (temperature-wise); but again, perfectly fine. I love creamed spinach and make variations on it all the time at home. I do think mine is superior 🙂

Dessert was a bit more exciting; a whiskey sauce bread pudding.

Creamy and pillowy with the right amount of punch from the whiskey. Delightful. This was the most well executed item of the lunch. Its not knocking this bread pudding out of first place; but definitely a contender.

Ruth Chris had a perfectly decent Restaurant Week; but for my time and money, I’d probably want to hold out for a full-service treatment and kitchen’s attention) at a more consistent steakhouse.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Cutie Patooty says:

    I have always wanted to try Ruth Chris. So excited to go to their happy hour on our next week night date night! I could never justify spending that much for a steak dinner that wasn’t Abe and Louie’s or Capital Grille. We love us some Capital Grille. Thanks so much for reviewing this restaurant!

  2. You’re welcome! It IS pricey; but for a drink and a snack; not too bad.

  3. Jen says:

    FRIEND – I’m dying over you calling your house “The Salad Bowl”…..HILARIOUS. Why did this not continue? Its like your Sponge-Bob-Square-Pants or something. I DEMAND you bring back calling your house this in future posts. Or I may with-hold my comments until I see it!

Leave a Reply

