Bachteawer III

Hello again friends!

Just tuning in? Catch up on my weekend:

Bachteawer I – Bachelorette Party

Bachteawer II – Afternoon Tea

After the Bachelorette Party Friday night, the Afternoon Tea on Saturday,  we were on to the Bridal Shower on Sunday!

The bride’s mother and sister put together a beautiful luncheon for 50 women at Siros on Marina Bay.

Oh yes, another favor. A spoon rest all tricked out.

Because I’m a slacker I was busy helping with things; I didn’t take ONE food picture. Pathetic, I know.

Lunch was a delicious buffet spread of:

  • Chicken Marsala
  • Chicken, Ziti & Broccoli
  • Roasted Summer Vegetables
  • Mashed Potatoes

We were each served a delicious green salad with feta upon sitting down at our table. I also devoured several pieces of Siros’ warm, crusty white bread dipped into their deliciously creamy white bean hummus.

I had some chicken and vegetables, and nibbled my Mom’s pasta for my lunch. Oh yes, my mother and sister were invited to this event too! Can’t miss Bestie Nicole’s  shower!

After the yummy lunch; the bride’s mother brought out this Italian pastry from Fratelli’s Pastry Shop. There were mini tiramisu, cheesecake, carrot cake, eclair and anisette and lemon biscotti cookies.  Yum.  I tried both a lemon and anisette cookie; pretty good – they were soft biscotti,  which I prefer.

I also enjoyed 3 of these little splits of Prosecco throughout the day. I am a fool for bubbles.

After lunch, it was time for the opening of the gifts. Check out the loot below:

This was only half of it; seriously.

The gracious bride reading every card first; she was great!

Guests watching the fun.

Still watching the action. That would be my friend Andrea in front, who is famous for closed-eye pictures.  I love her consistency.

We played one game during the shower (prizes,  prizes!)  – it was just the simple Timer  game:

  • The timer is set for 3 minutes; when it goes off; whomever gift the bride is opening gets a prize.

Notice how intently people are watching once we started the timer game 🙂  My mother kept hissing at me to “ring the bell” when her gift was opened (of course she was sitting in a corner, and I was sitting in the front of the room helping the bride, but no matter – mother needed to be heard :))  Unfortunately,  Ma, I couldn’t cheat at “bridal shower timer game” for you.

Winner, winner, chicken dinner. The ladies picking their prizes.

And finally, I put my friend Nurse and her sister, Chris to work making the ribbon bouquet. These girls were serious.

Please note that Nurse is wrapping the extra ribbon around her hand, bobbin-style to keep it neat. I want these two to decorate my life.

All in all, it was a beautiful day with friends and family – and most importantly, the celebration of the bride!I can’t wait for their wedding in August!!

Cheers  to good friends!!!

(and check out that ribbon bouquet).

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Liz says:

    I would just like to mention I did not win a single prize! got any leftovers?

    1. You and my mother can duke it out over who is more disappointed at not wining a prize. Laurice might win.

  2. Cutie Patooty says:

    You won a chicken dinnah! Hahaha

  3. Pingback: Your Kind of Salad
  4. Jen says:

    There is nothing better than a bridal ribbon bouquet! If only they were edible…this being a food blog and all, perhaps you should attempt to make one someday out of pasta ribbons and licorace ropes?

Leave a Reply

