Love is in the Air

Good morning darling friends!

SO happy its Friday! As you may know I have my Bestie’s bachelorette and bridal shower this weekend! So it will be a couple of days of food, fun and friends ūüôā Yeah! Of course I’ll be bringing all you gorgeous people along – so check back for updates and recaps.

But before all that – I had the best time celebrating my very good friend’s engagement!! My college roomie and close friend, Nurse met and fell in love with Rockstar (I actually went on their first date as an unsuspecting bystander :)) – Anyway, we’ve both been so busy, last night was the first chance we’ve¬† had to celebrate the news.

First off, we had a toast with my FAVORITE sparkling wine; Mumm Napa. I fell in love with this vineyard while visiting Napa a few years ago, and love their offerings! Its a bit hard to find here in Boston (although the delightful Beehive stocks it exclusively)  but  my sister recently went to the vineyard and brought me back several bottles; oh happy day!

We demolished this
I mean really, when else are you going to drink pink sparkling wine but to toast a friend's engagement?
The reason for the pink sparkling wine

Since we were busy chatting, I put out a simple plate of nibbles while we talked:

Pickies

On this platter:

  • Black pepper¬† goat cheese
  • Homemade Deviled Eggs (!)
  • Wasa Crackers
  • Sabra Hummus
  • Avocado, dressed simply with lime juice, salt and fresh black pepper¬†¬†¬†¬†¬† (yes the avocado made an appearance)
  • Grapes

Now, although I have great love for the egg; I do NOT like Deviled Eggs. The mayonnaise, the relish ((shudders)) – um, no thank you. But I wanted to make something a little fancier for the engagement dinner and I had everything on hand.

You look delicious. Too bad I won't eat you.

Adapted from this Emeril recipe. I simply mashed together¬† in a bowl: 2 egg yolks, a small spoonful of mayonnaise, a spoonful of Dijon mustard, a dash of garlic powder, black pepper, salt and a sprinkle of apple cider vinegar. I also added finely chopped scallions. I mixed with a fork until smooth and then piped (using the old plastic sandwich bag with the corner cut off trick) the filling into the egg white halves. They were gorgeous…. and uneaten, since turns out Nurse hates them too. Wow, after 13 years of friendship I thought I knew it all. Hope I remember her fianc√©e’s name.

For our dinner, I made a simple Asian menu:  Gyoza Stir Fry and Asian Slaw

Into the Stir Fry:

  • One bag of Whole Foods Thai Style Frozen Vegetables
  • 2/3 bag (about 10 gyoza) Trader Joe’s Frozen Vegetable Gyoza
  • Sauce: Green Curry Paste, Ginger, Garlic, Soy Sauce, Lime Juice

Into one saucepan (a wok would be better) I put the vegetables, gyoza (both still frozen), and about 1 inch of water. I covered the pan, and let it steam. After about 15 minutes; everything was soft and heated through.  I turned the flame to high heat and sautéed the veggies and gozya with a splash of oil  and the following ingredients:  Green Curry Paste, Ginger, Garlic, Soy Sauce, Lime Juice Рabout a dash of each Рjust eyeballed it. I just kept sautéing until everything was sauce-y (that is a technical term).  I served the dish with a sprinkle of scallion.

For the Asian Slaw, I adapted this recipe from Alton Brown

I really liked this recipe because it didn’t contain mayonnaise ((shudders)) – and the dressing included peanut butter, which I adore;¬† so it was perfect.

After dinner, I kept it simple with dessert and served this:

I served the ice cream alongside Trader Joe’s Oatmeal Raisin cookies & leftover homemade cookies from the freezer (so classy).

I also put out a few of these beauties too.

All in all, a fabulous night with a great friend! I’m so excited for their wedding!!

Ok darlings, I’m off to get this day going, check back again for updates from the bachelorette/bridal weekend!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    Just for future reference, should you ever have to “toast” to Beany’s engagement (ha!), keep the following in mind:
    – No champagne
    – No shrimp
    – And I do like deviled eggs, but in small doses
    – be sure to have some candy on-hand, and some of that lovely crackers and veggie dip I so enjoy!

Leave a Reply

