The BIG salad

Hello all!

I hope this Tuesday is treating you deliciously.  My day has been delightful so far;  just working hard for the money.  Breakfast was the same as yesterday (yawn, I know).

So on to lunch! As you maybe could tell from reading a little of my blog (or hell, even my blog title) – I just love me a salad.  I will put almost anything on a salad; and often eat a BIG salad daily for lunch or dinner (or both).  Gena, Thinspired and Rhodey Girl have had alot to say about the power of a big salad lately and I couldn’t agree more. Since my Whole Foods adventures on Sunday yielded some delicious finds; I present today’s BIG salad.

YUM.
Had to put my phone in for scale; so you could the ridiculousness.
Hello you beauty.
Still only halfway through, legit.

Mediterranean-Inspired Salad:

  • Vegetables: Spinach, Cabbage (Chinese & Red), Scallions, Red Pepper, Carrots, Cucumber
  • Roasted Vegetables: Fennel, Mushrooms, Broccoli, Carrots
  • 1 big slice of turkey, smeared with pesto
  • 1/2 slice of fontina cheese
  • 2 kalamata olives
  • 1 baby artichoke heart

This salad was off the hook delicious. Sadly, I ended up picking out the turkey; it tasted a little funky to me. Anyway, since I skipped the protein, I was more than happy to supplement lunch with one of these:

OK, wow.  I LOOOOVVVVE these. Those gals at Luna know what they’re doing. I’ve always been a fan of their products; although I find some of their regular bars to be a little sweet; but I think these have the perfect amount of sweetness.

The Cookie Dough was was sweet  without being cloying and has a great chew (not a sawdust chew that some other protein bars have).

A few weeks ago I tried the Chocolate Peanut Butter flavor. I thought it was scrumptious too. I usually shy away from “chocolate-flavored” things because I just don’t think they have that real chocolate flavor especially in bars, shakes etc – but this bar was really  CHOCOLATEY.  A really nice mix of both chocolate and peanut butter.  Love.

There is still one flavor I have not yet tried; Chocolate Cherry Almond; but it could be in my near future 🙂

My office is closing early today for a company-wide talent show. Seriously.   Should be an interesting recap tomorrow!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi there! Thanks for the shout-out. Hooray for big salads! I just took a look around your blog. We have another thing in common besides a love for giant salads…I hate raw tomatoes, too! Unless they’re in salsa, and then I can stomach them 😉

    1. Hi, thanks for commenting – love the mutual hatred for raw tomatoes; why are they so nasty? Why? BTW – I loved your Cinco de Mayo recap – I used to have that conversation with my old boyfriend all the time – he’d be like “can’t we just have “regular food” – and of course I’d be like “this is regular food….just a little better.” – oh boys 😉

  2. RhodeyGirl says:

    I love the Luna protein bars too, even though they are still a bit sweet to me.

    Thanks for the shout out!!

    1. Hi, thanks for commenting! I’m loving your “I love Salad Challenge” – I need to get you some pictures!

  3. Jen says:

    A LOT was revealed at this talent show if I am remembering correctly. Suspicions were CONFIRMED. And a life-long hatred was ignited.
    Plus there were mustaches! FUN!

Leave a Reply

