Mother’s Day with Ming

Hello friends!

I hope you had a beautiful mother’s day with the mama in your life! And if you’re a mama or a fur mama, cheers to you!

After a trip to the gym this morning (six miles on the dreadmill) – I got prettied up and met my family for Mother’s Day brunch at Blue Ginger!

Open Kitchen to watch the action

In 1998, Ming opened Blue Ginger in Wellesley, MA and immediately impressed diners from Boston and beyond with the restaurant’s innovative East-West cuisine. In its first year, Blue Ginger received 3 stars from the Boston Globe, was named “Best New Restaurant” by Boston Magazine, was nominated by the James Beard Foundation as “Best New Restaurant 1998,” and Esquire Magazine honored Ming as “Chef of the Year 1998.”

YUM.

Chef Tsai was in the kitchen today and was walking around wishing the moms Happy Mother’s Day – which I thought was very sweet. I hope he doesn’t find out I tried to out do him the other day with my Orzo.

On to the eats!

I started with a Bloody Mary.

Blue Ginger Bloody Mary
Creamless Asparagus Soup with Ponzu Aioli and Yuzu  Togarashi
Shiitake-Leek Springrolls with Three Chile Dipping Sauce A-MAZING.

We shared a bottle of pinot gris with our lunch entrees:

Sake-Miso Marinated Alaskan Butterfish with Wasabi Oil, Soy-Lime Syrup and Vegetarian Soba Noodle Sushi To Die For.
Yaki Soba with Chicken
Petit Filet with Asparagus
Organic Baby Spinach Salad with Craisins®, Oven Roasted Beets and Candied Walnuts with Goat Cheese Croquette & Lemongrass Shrimp Salad

The only entree missing was my mama’s! The honoree had Eggs Benedict – but I think you all have seen a poached egg, right? All the food was so delicious, and the perfect portion. We felt great, not weighed down, even though we had quite a bit of deliciousness to eat! The service left something to be desired; but I would love to go back for the dinner menu. Seriously – I mean look at it, ridic.

After lunch, my sister and I look a leisurely stroll the new Whole Foods at Legacy Place in Dedham!  You all could NOT believe how big this WF was! An employee told us that it is one of three Whole Foods this size IN THE WORLD. The other two are are in London, England and Austin, Texas respectively.  It took us a WHILE to work our way through the store; and that was with us skipping the beer and wine section! You all know how the good people at WF discourage pics so sadly I have none.  But it was a blast to walk around the market with my sister and examine everythig 🙂  – and the people working at WF were so awesome. I asked the produce man if they had different sizes of red cabbage (um, the ones they had out were the size of my niece, legit) – so the nice produce man – simply cut one cabbage in half for me. So nice, and now I don’t have to eat cabbage at every meal for the next month. Score! A similar thing happened at the poultry counter – my sister wanted a stuffed turkey breast – but they were seriously giant – so again they simply cut it on half and gave my sister one portion – so nice! Two hours, one coffee, and close to $100 later – my and my 6 bags of groceries were on the way home. Expect to see some fun meals in the future with my loot!

I am exhausted from the family fun this weekend; so the closet cleaning (ugh) will have to wait. Oh well 🙂

Hope your weekend was lovely! G’night!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Jen says:

    I feel old for asking this, but what’s a fur momma?

    PS: that food looks amazing.

    1. Fur mama = people who are pet owners. You and I would be Shoe Mamas – get it? Or in my case, a galant mama. Food was delish at Blue Ginger. I did love my butterfish 🙂

  2. Alicia says:

    OH MAN…..I’ve had that butterfish and its outrageously good.

    1. Seriously, I was hoarding it. My Dad asked for a bite and I gave him the teensiest bite ever (love you, Pops!) – That butterfish was too good to share!

Leave a Reply

